Progressive Dinner Party….

I was honored when Diane offered to bring me in as a host for her Gluten Free Progressive Easter Dinner Party. I was even more excited when I was able to sign up to offer this years’ Easter entree. 

In case you missed it, here is the menu run down:

*Appetizer: Shirley @ Gluten Free Easily- Mom’s Deviled Eggs
*Salad: Diane @ The W.H.O.L.E. Gang- Roasted Red & Yellow Beet Salad w/ Avocado,     
                                                                         Oranges, Red    Onon, & Toasted Pine Nuts
*Entree: Moi!
*Side Dish: Shirley @ Gluten Free Easily (Thursday)

*Dessert: Shirley @ Gluten Free Easily (Friday)

Easter is a deeply religious time for us in the GF Gidget household. God has blessed us so richly. We have a wonderful, close knit family. We live comfortably. We never have to worry about where our next meal is coming from. We have our health. We have a wonderful puppy…. When you start listing your blessings they quickly become overwhelming. Sure we complain from time to time. I get annoyed when my favorite jeans are dirty. I huff when my tupperware cabinet is disorganized. Sometimes I even get down because eating GF all the time gets annoying. But then, I step back and look at my “blessings list” and think, “God is so good!”  
Growing up we traditionally ate lamb on Easter. My mom always said it was because “Jesus is the Lamb who was slain for our sins.” For me, there was no other meal to serve for this Easter entree. However, I have grown, my palate has expanded, I am ridiculously busy, and I enjoy playing with my food too much to simply serve up my mom’s traditional Easter lamb. So…. here is something a little different, very quick and simple to prepare, but definitely Easter worthy!
Crockpot Leg of Lamb with a Thai Sweet Plum Sauce
(Serves 2)
Ingredients: 
– 1/2 Leg of Lamb (about 2.5 lbs.)
– 1 cup Prune Butter
– 1 tablespoon Ketchup
– peel of 1 Lemon
– juice of 1 Lemon
– 1 tablespoon Red Wine Vinegar
– 1 teaspoon freshly grated Ginger
– 1 teaspoon Thai Sweet Chili Sauce
– 1 cup Water
– 2 teaspoons Cornstarch
– 1/8 cup Water
Score Lamb to allow marinade to absorb during cooking.
Place Lamb in crockpot.
Combine Prune Butter thru Thai Sweet Chili Sauce and pour evenly over meat.
Being careful not to wash away the marinade, pour water around the meat.
Cook on low 6-8 hours. (Ours cooked in 6.5)
Remove Lamb from the pot and allow to rest 10 minutes before slicing.
While meat rests, pour 1 cup of sauce into a small saucepan and turn burner on medium low.
In a small cup, combine 1/8 cup Water and Cornstarch.
Slowly whisk into simmering sauce and allow to thicken slightly.
Remove from heat.
Plate Lamb and drizzle (or drown if you are GF Guy) with Plum Sauce.
We enjoyed our fall of the bone tender Lamb with the accompaniments of Garlic Herb Mashed Potatoes, Steamed Broccoli, and Vegan Herb Drop Biscuits. 
AMEN!

7 thoughts on “Progressive Dinner Party….

  1. We grew up having lamb as well on Easter but I never developed a liking for it! We will start next week celebrating with our Jewish friends at a traditional Seder. Since I don't have a kosher kitchen I won't be contributing any food but I did order some Kosher for Passover wine to bring to our hosts! Later in the week I am hosting a large Tibetan group here for dinner, a busy holy week indeed. As yes, blessing and being grateful for all we have!

  2. So glad you could join the dinner party. I really like how you've taken a dish that can seem so overwhelming to folks and make it so approachable. I've never had prune butter. Do you make that yourself? Is it all prunes like apple butter or is there dairy in there too?

  3. Wow, wonderful post, Katrina! I'll be counting my blessings today because of your eloquent reminder. :-)And, awesome dish … crockpot recipe–BONUS! lamb recipe–BONUS! (you can enter that on Diane's Friday Foodie Fix from last week for lamb), naturally gluten-free recipe–BONUS! and new ingredients and flavors to try–BONUS! I'm sure I left something out, but this recipe is really great–thank you! Shirley

  4. You're so right. God is good and we need to count our blessings more often. I've never cooked lamb and I'm afraid to try. My brother who is a great cook made it for Easter one year and it tasted terrible! I know I should try it some time though.

Let's Discuss!