Curry Baked Chicken

This dinner has a “great personality”…..

That’s a nice way of saying that it is ugly…. But, hey! It’s the taste that really counts, and this is one deliciously ugly dinner!

Friday afternoon, I rushed home from work to pack for a weekend getaway to visit my husband in LA. Having a few vegetables that needed to be used before I left, I drew inspiration from a favorite childhood casserole to create a dish that could bake while I packed. An hour later, the smell of curry laced the air, my weekend duffle was packed, the garbage was taken out, and I ate one last delicious meal before heading to the airport.

The inspiration for this recipe calls for “no-no” ingredients like condensed cream of chicken soup, breadcrumbs, and cheddar cheese. Instead of stressing out over these ingredients and attempting to recreate them in a gluten-free, dairy-free fashion, I used other ingredients that would mimic a similar flavor profile. Tofutti vegan sour cream and nutritional yeast flakes yielded the creamy, salty, slightly cheesy flavor I was looking for. Plus, let’s be honest, curry powder makes EVERYTHING better!

Curry Baked Chicken

(Gluten Free, Dairy Free)

Ingredients:

  • 1 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breast
  • 1 head Broccoli, chopped
  • 2 Tomatoes, chopped
  • 3 Tbsp Vegan Sour Cream (Tofutti)
  • 2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast Flakes
  • pinch Sea Salt
  • 1/8 tsp Black Pepper
  • 1/4 tsp Lemon Juice
  • 1 1/2 tsp Curry Powder
  • 1 Tbsp Low Sodium Chicken Stock

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. (375 degrees F if cooking at high altitude)
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the vegan sour cream, nutritional yeast, salt, pepper, lemon juice, and curry powder. Stir until well combined.
  3. Place the chicken in the center of an 8×8 baking dish. Surround the chicken with the chopped broccoli and tomatoes.
  4. Pour the sour cream mixture over the chicken and broccoli and spread to coat.
  5. Tightly cover the baking dish with aluminum foil.
  6. Bake in preheated oven for 50-60 minutes, until chicken is cooked through.
3 thoughts on “Curry Baked Chicken

  1. I actually think it looks fab! I want to poke my fork right into my screen. I do miss those creamed soup “hot dishes” as we call them in the north. The food of church basement potlucks. I wish I could find an alternative to the nutritional yeast flakes as I am not a big fan. Any thoughts.

Let's Discuss!

