BBQ White Bean & Kale Sweet Potato Pocket

Thursday already? This week is flying by!

Recently (and by recently I mean yesterday), I came to a big conclusion. I am a small fry.

image source

What brought this revelation about, you ask? Well, these last 2 days I have been a part of some pretty big meetings at work. I would sit there all prim and proper listening to those around me discussing quarter objectives and ACVs and wondering how the heck I managed to get asked to participate in these meetings! I mean seriously! I must have been the youngest person in the room by at least 10 years (with 2 exceptions). The breadth of knowledge and experience of everyone was down right intimidating and more than a little inspiring. Long story short…. I came to the realization that I am completely content in the position that I am in, for the time being. I need to focus and pay attention to what is going on around me. I need to be challenged to learn and grow by my peers.

For now, I am a small fry. BUT, soon I will grow to be a medium fry, and eventually to a pretty sizable fry. I’m only 27. I’ve got all the time in the world. I’m okay with that…. for now! 😉

Now, the food!

Today’s recipe is a quick, week night supper that uses pre-made salsa and BBQ sauce for a cheaters version of baked beans. I may love to cook, but not after crazy long work day. I have my limits!

BBQ White Bean & Kale Sweet Potato Pocket

(Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Vegan)

Ingredients:

  • 3 Sweet Potatoes
  • 1/4 tsp Coconut Oil
  • 1/2 Yellow Onion, chopped
  • 1 large clove Garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup Crimini Mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 bunch Green Curly Kale, chopped
  • 1/2 cup Cannelini Beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1/3 cup Salsa
  • 3 Tbsp BBQ Sauce
  • Salt & Pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Wrap sweet potatoes in foil and bake in oven about 1 hour, until soft.
  3. When potatoes are almost done begin making the stuffing.
  4. Heat coconut oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat until melted and skillet is hot.
  5. Saute onions about 5 minutes, until translucent.
  6. Add mushrooms and continue to cook 3-5 minutes until the mushrooms begin to “sweat”. (Watch the heat. You may need to reduce it to medium.)
  7. Add the garlic and cook 1 minute before adding the kale in 3 batches, sauteing until wilted before adding another. If needed, add 1-2 Tbsp water to help the kale cook.
  8. Add remaining ingredients cooking until heated through.
  9. Unwrap cooked sweet potatoes and slice lengthwise down the center.
  10. Stuff kale and white bean filling in each sweet potato.
  11. Top with sliced avocado to serve, optional.
2 thoughts on “BBQ White Bean & Kale Sweet Potato Pocket

  1. I think I came to this conclusion about my job a while ago, because I Work in a grocery store and many of the meetings have nothing to do with me. It used to both me, but now I realize that even though I’m a “small fry” I have so much potential to do something BIG with my “small fry” position!
    FYI, I went to pin this wonderful recipe and the only photo it would let me pin was the baby. May want to look into that. I pinned it anyway 🙂 Sounds awesome!

    • I had that same issue with the baby photo! I ended up just pinning it with the button on my internet toolbar instead of the button under the post. I guess it just chooses the first photo and goes with that. Weird!
      PS- I used to work with grocery store nutritionists a little bit! Now, I’m not in the conventional sector so I don’t see you guys as often.

Let's Discuss!

