Sundried Tomato Carrot Top Pesto

The farmer’s markets in Denver have opened, and I finally got around to going!

GF Guy says this is a picture of me in my “natural habitat”.

The market was a gluten free treasure trove! We bought organic, local zucchini, black kale, tomatoes, rainbow carrots, onions, peaches, gorgeous Chantrelle and Maiitake mushrooms, and a delicious sweet red wine! We also stumbled upon a gluten free pasta stand and gluten free cupcake stand! Next time…..

The lovely young man at the vegetable stand offered to discard the rainbow carrot tops for me, but, for some reason, I refused. Perhaps it is the frugal person in me, but I figured I could do something with them. Well, that “something” turned out to be a delicious pesto! I’m not sure where the idea came from. GF Guy and I were sitting in the car, driving to Super Target, when I turned to him and stated, out of the blue, that I would be making pesto out of the carrot tops. He is used to completely random statements from me, so, taking it in stride, he nodded and kept driving. (He was probably trying to figure out where we could order take out from if the pesto was a bust….) 

Truth be told, this was my first time making normal pesto. I make avocado pesto all the time, but never regular pesto with olive oil. I didn’t bother googling how it’s done. I just went for it. It was probably beginners luck, but I will take it, because this pesto is AWESOME!!!!!!

Sundried Tomato Carrot Top Pesto

(Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Vegan)

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 bunch of Carrots Tops
  • 1 large clove Garlic
  • 1 Tbsp Sundried Tomatoes, packed in Oil
  • Sea Salt & Black Pepper, to taste
  • 2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast Flakes
  • 1/4-1/3 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Directions:

  1. Place the first five ingredients in a food processor and process until finely chopped.
  2. Slowly drizzle in olive oil until desired consistency is reached.
  3. Adjust seasoning.
6 thoughts on “Sundried Tomato Carrot Top Pesto

  1. Wow I love this idea! I’ve always wanted to make basil pesto, but basil is kind of expensive and I always feel bad throwing away my carrot tops! I know there is something I can do with them but I have no idea what! Now I will try this! (And yay for dairy-free pesto!!)

  2. 1) THAT PICTURE OF YOU IS ADORAAAAAAAABLE! It should be framed I think! 😀
    2) I am a pesto FREAK, so this sounds incredibleeeeeeee! my fav veggie with any pesto sauce is BROCCOLI, because it soaks it up so well!

    happy weekend, Katrina!

Let's Discuss!

