Strawberry Honey Mug Cake

Let them eat cake!

No, it’s not my birthday, and I’m not having a party. Though, I did “have a ball” this weekend….

Saturday night was the annual 1940’s WWII Era Ball in Boulder, CO.

There were 2,500 people there dressed in their finest 1940’s attire, dancing late into the night to live swing music complete with a Frank Sinatra impersonator. We posed for photos with vintage cars and airplanes, and took in a big screen showing of Casablanca.

It was magical! Even better, it was to raise funds for wounded veterans. A good time for a good cause? Count me in! Plus I got to play dress up!

But I digress…. back to the cake. I love having a portion controlled sweet treat after dinner on the weekends. It makes them special! The mug cake, as you may have noticed, has become my dessert of choice. It doesn’t dirty many dishes, takes less than 5 minutes to make, and doesn’t leave pesky leftovers lying around to go stale while I’m traveling. Normally, I go for a chocolate version, but I ran out of cocoa powder and was forced to try something new. Boy am I glad I did! I can’t wait to try this with blueberries!

Strawberry Honey Mug Cake

(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup Brown Rice Flour
  • 1 Egg, beaten
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 Tbsp Honey
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 4 Strawberries, chopped

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large mug until smooth.
  2. Microwave for 90 seconds.
  3. Top with a dusting of cinnamon and additional sliced strawberries, frosting, glaze, or whatever you fancy!
Let's Discuss!

