Protein Pancakes

About a year ago, I started drinking protein “shakes” in the morning.

(And by “shakes” I mean I am too lazy to actually pull out the blender so I just mix the powder with water and call it a day.)

I was always hungry an hour after eating cereal, and with my on-the-go schedule that was unacceptable. Protein powder really fills me up and keeps me fueled throughout the morning and into the early afternoon. Now, I notice a huge difference in my hunger and blood sugar levels when I don’t drink it.

This morning, I didn’t feel like drinking my breakfast. I wanted something fun and frivolous feeling that would still fill me up. Enter the protein pancake!

I did a quick internet search for a protein filled breakfast idea and found a yummy looking recipe for protein pancakes on one of my favorite work-out sites, Blogilates.com. With a few tweaks to accommodate the altitude and to adapt to my pantry contents, this recipe delivered 3 full size, fluffy pancakes! I topped them with a little pumpkin puree (What else?!) and enjoyed a delicious, and filling, breakfast for under 200 calories!

Protein Pancakes

adapted from this recipe on Blogilates.com

(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

Ingredients:

  • 1 scoop Vegan Vanilla Protein Powder
  • 1 Tbsp ground Chia Seeds
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 large, organic Egg, beaten
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/3-2/3 cup Water
  • Blueberries, optional

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, gently mix protein powder, chia seeds, baking powder, egg, cinnamon, and 1/3 cup water until just combined. DO NOT OVER MIX!
  2. Heat a skillet over medium heat.
  3. Scoop 1/4 cup of the batter into the warm skillet and cook about 1 minute on each side.
  4. As it sits, the batter will thicken (this is due to the chia seeds). Thin with remaining water as necessary.
  5. If using the optional blueberries, after scooping the batter into the skillet, wait about 20 seconds and then drop 4-5 berries onto the pancake.

This post is linked to SS&GF’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays and Gluten Free Wednesday’s at the Gluten Free Homemaker!

8 thoughts on “Protein Pancakes

  1. Those look great!

    I have the same problem. I drink protein shakes with water (it tastes horrible), but at least it keeps the calories down 🙂

    I bought some great tasting stuff from Canada recently at : http://www.canadawhey.com/

    They taste a lot better than the regular stuff I get from GNC store.

    Definitely worth checking out and thanks again for the recipes!

  2. Looks yummy! Have you tried making almond crumpets (or pancakes as you call them?)… Use coconut milk and almond flour. I think they’re better than wheat ones! Thanks for another gluten-free blog, appreciate the hints and ideas from more
    gluten-free people!

    • I have, but not recently! They are yummy! Right now, I’m sticking with the flours I have on hand until my next vitacost.com order. THEN, I will restock my coconut flour. I miss it!
      Katrina

  3. Pingback: Protein Pancakes with Roasted Berries | glutenfreegidget

Let's Discuss!

