Speedy BBQ Chicken

I’m back from another 2 week trip and craving meat like a man!

image source

When on the road, meat is not something I normally eat. I tend to turn into a little bunny and gorge myself on salads, vegetables, tofu, and beans. I guess with all of the flights and stresses of travel, my body craves light, fresh fare. It also tends to be a safer option, for me, at least. Who knows if the chicken was cooked on a contaminated grill or pan? You simply can’t trust people. Case in point…. While in California, I ate at a local Italian restaurant with a friend. They had GF pasta and pizza crusts and it was recommended by a friend who is also GF. When my GF pasta entree arrived, it was definitely GF pasta, but one bite left me wondering if there was butter in my dish. I walked up to the waiter and questioned him. He assured me that he had explicitly told the kitchen no gluten and no dairy. So, I returned to the table and ate my meal. WELL…. I can explicitly tell you that there WAS butter on my pasta! It was not good times, that’s for sure! I’m not blaming anyone but myself. I should have gone with my instinct and not eaten. However, I am just pointing out that no matter how careful we are, eating out presents risk. It’s just the way it is.

But as I was saying….. when I arrived home from my 2 week travel stint, I wanted meat, chicken and roasted vegetables, to be exact.

After arriving home from my Friday office day, I got the chicken marinating while I prepped and roasted the vegetables. By the time that was done, the chicken was marinated and ready to cook. Served atop a bed of greens and baby kale, this dinner hit the spot for this road weary girl!

Speedy BBQ Chicken

(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

Ingredients:

  • 1 organic Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breast
  • White Pepper
  • Sea Salt
  • Thyme
  • Salt-Free Poultry Seasoning
  • Cumin
  • 1/2 cup BBQ Sauce
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp Hot Sauce

Directions:

  1. Place chicken breast in a shallow, glass dish.
  2. Season generously on both sides with white pepper, salt, thyme, and poultry seasoning.
  3. Pour BBQ sauce and hot sauce over seasoned chicken and coat evenly.
  4. Cover glass dish with plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator for 45 minutes to an hour, or longer.
  5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. (375 for high altitude), and heat an oven safe skillet over medium-high heat.
  6. Sear the chicken in the skillet for 3 minutes on each side.
  7. Transfer the skillet to the preheated oven and cook 12-15 minutes, until chicken is done.
Let's Discuss!

