Lentil Bolognese

I’m finally back home in Denver and it feels so good!!!!!!!!!!!!

Don’t get me wrong. It was awesome seeing my family and being a part of my little sister’s wedding. My sister looking like a brunette Barbie doll, and GF Guy and I had an awesome time giving you “Wedding Sexy” on the dance floor.

BUT…. it feels so good to have a kitchen and my own bed again! I slept in until 9am, (Talk about luxurious.) and now have supper cooking away in the crock pot. Errands are on the list as is a killer BodyRock.tv couplet workout. Basically, today is going to be awesome!

Even better, I got to Skype with my little brother who is studying abroad in Italy for the summer. He said there are tons of Gluten-Free food options everywhere in Italy, and the food is amazing. People actually take the time to cook and enjoy their food, a concept totally foreign to most Americans. I am definitely adding Italy to my list of “Must Visit” places.

Okay, now on to the recipe. Friday, I worked from 7am to 6pm with only a 30 minute lunch bread, during which I went grocery shopping. By the time I got home that night, a simple dinner was a necessity. My brain was already done for the day. This simple recipe was easy to make, nourishing, and left me with enough leftovers for a second meal. It is the perfect recipe for a newbie vegan or cook looking to break away from boxed meals. Enjoy!

Lentil Bolognese

(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Vegan)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup dried Green Lentils
  • 1 cup Water
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • 1 1/2 cups Marinara Sauce
  • 2 large handfuls Spinach

Directions:

  1. Place lentils, water, and bay leaf in a sauce pan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer and cook, partially covered, for 35-40 minutes.
  2. Once lentils have cooked, remove the bay leaf.
  3. Add marinara sauce and spinach to the lentils and stir to combine.
  4. Increase heat to medium-low, cover and cook until gently bubbling.
  5. Serve over pasta or, my personal favorite, spiralized zucchini “noodles” and steamed broccoli.
  6. Sprinkle with nutritional yeast flakes before serving.
One thought on “Lentil Bolognese

Let's Discuss!

