Avocado Chai Tea Cake

I turned a catastrophe into cake!

Friday during my lunch break is when I normally do my grocery shopping for the weekend. It gives me a chance to get out of the office and stretch my legs. This week, I ran up to a Super Target where they had perfectly ripe avocados on sale! I couldn’t believe my luck! That is until I got home and discovered one of the avocados had been thrown in the bottom of my bag and unceremoniously squashed…..

Not wanting to waste a perfectly good avocado, I set about creating a new baked good. Don’t ask me where this idea came from. Heavens if I know! It just occurred to me that the fat in the avocado could be a good replacement for butter or oil in a recipe. Then it occurred to me that Chai tea would be an fantastsically flavorful liquid component and the rest is history. I decided to freeze the leftovers so i will have decadant, spice-laden treats for weeks to come!

Avocado Chai Tea Cake

(Gluten Free, Dairy Free)

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe Avocado, mashed
  • 1/2 cup Maple Syrup
  • 2 large Eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup strongly brewed Chai Tea, cooled
  • 2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ground Cloves
  • 1 cup Brown Rice Flour
  • 1/4 cup Sorghum Flour
  • 1/2 cup Tapioca Starch
  • 1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Xanthum Gum

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl, vigorously whisk together the wet ingredients and the spices.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet, stirring until just combined.
  5. Pour batter into a greased 8×8 square pan and bake for 45-50 minutes, until done.
  6. Cool completely before cutting.

This post is linked to Gluten Free Wednesdays at the Gluten Free Homemaker and to Allergy Free Wednesdays at Tessa the Domestic Diva.

8 thoughts on “Avocado Chai Tea Cake

  1. Did I mention Tina makes Pumpkin Chili every single Sunday night? Sort of crazy after her little temper tantrum about it. We missed it this past Sunday as we were celebrating mother’s dad at her brothers so she asked for it last night. Finally got smart and make a double batch each time. Now, do you think I could pass this one off on her? I know avocado in a cake would freak her out just like pumpkin in chili.

  2. Pingback: Fox in the Kitchen – Recipe: Baked Apple Strawberry Fritters :: MMM (Must Make Monday)

    • I made this last weekend. Actually cut the maple syrup in half because I wanted to serve it for breakfast. And well, truth be told maple syrup is not cheap… It was subtly sweet with spice. My whole family LOVED it! And I am going to make your apple cider chicken tonight. Do you ever do that? Find a new blog that you love and try 2 or 3 of their recipes in one week? Apparently I do! Oh and Jeff and Kristy up there…that’s me. Forgot to switch over to coconutmama. 🙂 Thanks for the great recipes.

      • I am so glad you all enjoyed it, and even more glad you stopped back to tell me about it! I definitely have tried a recipe from a new blog 3 times in one week. When I first became GF the Gluten Free Goddess blog was my saving grace! She taught me how to cook and experience food. Thanks again for stopping by! Can’t wait to hear how the chicken turns out!
        -Katrina

  3. Pingback: Happy One Year Anniversary! « CoCoNut MaMa

Let's Discuss!

