Berry Good Green Smoothie

Preface: A Green Smoothie isn’t always green…

Sometimes it is purple!

I have been craving Green Smoothies and Juices like crazy these past few weeks! I don’t know what it is. I eat an abnormal amount of greens and vegetables to begin with. Why my body is asking for more is beyond me, but I am happy to oblige! The more greens and color on my plate and in my diet the happier I am.

So, what makes a Smoothie a Green Smoothie? It is the addition of greens! Greens can range from spinach to kale to swiss chard. Whatever you have on hand can be tossed into your blender for an added nutritional boost. For those Green Smoothie newbies out there, I recommend starting with spinach. Spinach has the most innocuous flavor of all the greens.

I added Chia Seeds and GF Oats to my smoothie for extra fiber. Feel free to omit if you don’t have any lying around. 😉

 

Berry Good Green Smoothie

(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Vegan)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 frozen Banana
  • 1/4 cup frozen Blueberries
  • 3-4 Strawberries
  • 1 handful Baby Spinach
  • 3/4 cup Unsweetened Original Almond Milk
  • 2 tsp Chia Seeds
  • 1 Tbsp Certified Gluten-Free Old Fashioned Oats

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients in a blender in the order listed.
  2. Process until smooth.
4 thoughts on “Berry Good Green Smoothie

  1. Yep, this is wha tI do to make Nick’s smoothies NOT green (so he will eat them….) add frozen blueberries, it works every time! The oat idea is new to me, and i’ve been seeing it a lot lately on blogs. I really need to try that sometime!

Let's Discuss!

