Gluten-Free Travel Essentials

Normally, I don’t post much during the week. You see, I travel for my job, which makes cooking near on impossible.

image source

I live out of a suitcase 4 out of 7 days a week. I can pack for a week in 5 minutes flat. (Yes, I timed myself!) AND, I know how to get through airport security faster than the TSA do themselves!

My meals are rather boring. Usually dinner consists of a bed of lettuce with steam in the bag veggies, salsa, and either tofu or tuna. Lunch is eaten on the go. Think, a Larabar, or something similar, baby carrots, or dry-roasted Edamame. I’m not particularly married to either of these meals, but they do the trick. My hunger is satisfied, and my stomach is not upset.

BUT… there are two creature comforts of which I can not do without. When you can’t have your own bed you are entitled to find your comfort wherever possible. For me? My two travel essentials are (and don’t laugh)

The Light My Fire Spork is a fork, knife, and spoon all in one! It has saved me on countless occasions. It sounds dorky, but this is seriously the best travel tool I have ever bought.

Vega One Protein Powder is a nutritious AND delicious way to start any morning! It powers me through the work day without weighing me down. Since I am both gluten-free and diary-free, a protein powder that tastes good mixed with only water is essential. This protein fits the bill! This week, I wasn’t able to find the protein for 2 mornings. I bought a different brand and nearly gagged both mornings! I will NEVER cheat on my Vega ever again!

Do you have any products that you can’t live without? What are your tips and tricks for successful gluten-free travel?

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Travel Essentials

  1. That spofokni thing is sporty and handy. Tina is in charge of GF travel around here. But your travel is way different than leisure travel. You need a little travel spice kit. I have looked for some online but none fit the bill quite right. Now I am still waiting for the iron pananni.

    • When I traveled with GF Guy, I had a mini kitchen I carried around with me. Everything from Balsamic Vinegar to Cayenne Pepper fit nicely into a tupperware that tucked under my bus seat. Nowadays, I am much easier to please.
      PS- I thought about making the iron panini, but do you know how filthy that thing must be?!

Let's Discuss!

