BBQ Sweet Potato & Avocado Grilled Cheese Sandwich (aka Grilled Cheese Nirvana)

It happened! I achieved grilled cheese nirvana!

A few of you may be scratching your heads, wondering how this is so since I don’t eat gluten or dairy. Well, my friends, Udi’s Gluten-Free Bread & Daiya Vegan Mozzarella make fantastic substitutes! They are so delicious, in fact, that GF Guy eats them and actually enjoys them! How’s that for an endorsement?

This month is National Grilled Cheese Month. What better time to introduce this beauty to the world? Originally inspired by a recipe on Pinterest that I made and was not 100% pleased with, my version is the perfect blend of sweet and savory with a decided POW! of BBQ tang.

Admittedly, BBQ sauce is my condiment version of kryptonite. I add it to meatballs… use it as a dip for celery and cucumber slices… I have even been known to drizzle BBQ sauce on a salad in place of dressing! But adding BBQ sauce to a grilled cheese? The idea seemed crazy, until now.

Sit back and prepare for cheesy heaven on a plate!

BBQ Sweet Potato & Avocado Grilled Cheese Sandwich

(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F, and line a baking tray with foil.
  2. Put sweet potato rounds in a medium bowl and drizzle with oil, cinnamon, paprika, salt, sugar, and maple syrup. Toss until evenly coated.
  3. Place sweet potato rounds in an even layer on the foil lined baking sheet and bake in preheated oven for 15-18 minutes, until soft.
  4. Once sweet potato rounds are finished cooking, begin assembling your sandwich.
  5. Start by lightly buttering the outside of the 2 slices of Udi’s bread with Earth Balance.
  6. Next, evenly sprinkle the shredded Daiya cheese on the inside of one slice of bread.
  7. Top cheese with 3-4 sweet potato rounds, 4 thin slices of avocado, 2 slices of tomato, and 1/4 cup baby spinach. Spread BBQ sauce on the inside of the second slice of bread, and place on top of the spinach.
  8. Heat a skillet sprayed with non-stick cooking spray over medium-low heat.
  9. Place sandwich in the skillet and cook until desired level of char is achieved and cheese begins to melt.
  10. Using a spatula, carefully flip the sandwich and continue cooking on the other side until done.

This post is linked to Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays at Simply Sugar and Gluten Free.

7 thoughts on “BBQ Sweet Potato & Avocado Grilled Cheese Sandwich (aka Grilled Cheese Nirvana)

  1. Ditto to BBQ sauce! Love it beyond measure. I am a bit more of a purest when it comes to my grilled cheese. I love good cheese, real unadulterated cheese. My favorite is 7 year aged cheddar. We got spoiled when we started buying aged cheddar, worked out way up to the 7 year stuff and can’t go back. Nothing beats an udi’s grilled cheese with an aged cheddar. Occasionally I might add a tomato, slice of ham or hot sausage but I don’t like to junk it up too much, takes away from the cheese and can be distracting rather than complimentary. I do like the combination of stuff you used however. I does sound wonderful.

  2. YUM!!! I pinned this and hope to make it soon. I have been into vegetarian meals lately (although I’ll admit, I would probably use REAL cheese on this…because Nick won’t go for anything else!). This recipe sounds amazing!
    And, I don’t know if I said it before, but I love the new look of your blog!

    • I bet it would be awesome with real cheese! We all have to make “sacrifices” for our loved ones. 😉 I have to buy real milk for my husband. He won’t touch almond milk with a 10 foot pole! Thanks for the love!

  3. Pingback: How do I grill cheese? Veggie count the ways | Hip Veggies

Let's Discuss!

