Easter Eggs in a Basket

Happy Easter!

What a glorious resurrection day! This is my first Easter away from all members of my family. No Easter egg hunts with the grandparents, no brunch with my husband…. To be honest, it made me a little sad. BUT…. I can’t stay sad on Easter! I have too much to be thankful for!

Instead of moping, I planned an Easter picnic in the park with a dear friend. (after church, of course) Last night, I roasted a chicken for sandwiches and washed fresh, organic strawberries. We will have a feast!

That is this afternoon. This morning, I made myself an Easter breakfast feast of Eggs in a Basket. It seemed appropriate beings that it is Easter, and all.

This was my first time having this breakfast treat. Shocking, I know…. For many of you, Eggs in a Basket was probably a childhood favorite. It was for GF Guy. Do you want to know my favorite part of the meal? It was when I got to the center of the egg and it broke to reveal a golden yolk bursting with savory, rich flavor. It enveloped the bread and lent a richness that elevated this humble dish to an entirely new level. LOVED IT!

Happy Easter, everyone!

Eggs in a Basket

(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Heat a skillet sprayed with non-stick cooking spray over medium heat.
  2. Meanwhile, using the mouth of a glass, cut a circle in the center of your slice of bread. Discard the circle of bread or toast to eat along with your meal.
  3. Place the slice of bread with a hole cut in the middle in the skillet and toast until golden on each side.
  4. Once bread is lightly toasted, crack the egg into the center of the hole. Cook about 4 minutes until almost set.
  5. Carefully flip the egg and toast and cook 30-60 seconds more.
  6. Season with salt and pepper if desired.
  7. Serve with baby spinach and tomato slices.

What are your plans for today? Do you have any special Easter traditions you look forward too?

2 thoughts on “Easter Eggs in a Basket

  1. No eggs for me! Wonderful first night Seder on Friday, hosted a baby shower on Saturday and working today. Enjoy your picnic!

Let's Discuss!

