Peanut Butter Banana Snack Cake

GF Guy is jealous of Dickens. Why, you ask? He is jealous because Dickens received a present in the mail and he didn’t. Somebody is in the dog house, and it’s not Dickens!

I awoke early this morning to bake a treat to mail to GF Guy’s next locale. The post office closes at noon on Saturday, so I was rushing around like none other. Before 11am, I had already baked, photographed, and wrapped GF Guy’s treat, scrubbed the entire bathroom, and washed the bed sheets and comforter.

Typing this post is actually the first time I have sat down all day, and, truth be told, I’m not really sitting. I am precariously perched atop a stool so as to engage my core muscles and squeeze a mini workout into the 10 minutes I will be sitting still! I am considering applying for the Energizer Bunny’s job!

I quickly threw together this recipe using some of GF Guy’s favorite ingredients. I love how cooking has become so second nature and organic that I don’t even have to look up a recipe anymore. I simply begin assembling ingredients knowing what I want the outcome to be, and somehow, it happens.

A few years ago, if you had told me I would cook this way I would have laughed in your face! You are talking about the girl who started a fire because she thought the cardboard on the bottom of a frozen pizza was a disposable pan! (…yes… that happened) It is a lesson for all you out there who claim you can’t cook. By putting your mind to anything, you can accomplish it!

Peanut Butter Banana Snack Cake

(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 2 large Eggs
  • 2 Tbsp Oil
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 2 ripe Bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup certified Gluten-Free Oats
  • 1/4 cup Cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup Brown Rice Flour
  • 1/2 tsp Xanthum Gum
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 cup Peanut Butter
  • 2-4 Tbsp Unsweetened Original Almond Milk, if needed

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. (375 degrees F for high altitude baking)
  2. In a food processor, pulse gluten-free oats until finely ground. They should be the consistency of a course flour.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together the sugar, oil, and eggs until smooth.
  4. Add vanilla and bananas and continue whisking until smooth.
  5. Stir in the oat flour, cornstarch, rice flour, xanthum gum, baking powder, baking soda, & salt, until just smooth. Do not over mix.
  6. Fold in the peanut butter, adding almond milk one Tbsp at a time, as needed, to thin batter. (I used 4 Tbsp, as I am in a high altitude. Most of you will probably only need 2 Tbsp.)
  7. Pour batter into an 8×8 baking pan sprayed with non-stick cooking spray and bake in a preheated oven for 35-40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  8. Cool completely before slicing.
5 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Banana Snack Cake

  1. I am so jealous that you can bake without a recipe! I can barely bake WITH a recipe! Cook? Heck yeah! Saute, whip, roast – I’m there. Baking? Nope.

    • Confession…. I can’t make an omelette to save my life, I’m intimidated by beets, and the thought of frying anything strikes fear in my heart! We all have our kitchen challenges. 😉

  2. Intimidated by beets? What’s that about? The cake sure looks good and I am sure it will bring a smile to Michael’s face. I am in Marlow’s camp, not much of baker. But I believe you can do anything you want. With the right ingredients, the right equipment and a little help from your blogging friends heck you could whip up a fried beet omelette in no time.

  3. I’m loving the new look!!
    And, I think I will apply for that energizer bunny job too. I’m tough competition, watch out 🙂
    I pinned this recipe, it sounds great! I tried to use your pin gadget but the photo of you was the only one that would come up (just an fyi, you may want to look into it). I did it the long way though, no big deal, I want to make this!

    • Thanks! I tried the pinterest link at the bottom of the post and it seemed to work okay for me. Maybe there was a glitch. Sorry about that, and thanks for the heads up! I will keep an eye on it.

Let's Discuss!

