Sundried Tomato Stuffed Chicken….

Back to the old grind stone! I had an amazing New Year’s weekend with GF Guy and Dickens.
I flew into Florida last night and was surprised to find it colder here than it is in Denver! Something is definitely wrong with this picture.
Anyway, both my parents and in-laws live in Florida, so occasionally my route takes me by their houses and I am able to spend the night at their homes. Last night, I was lucky enough to end my day near my parents. I was craving chicken really badly. This NEVER happens! I’m more of a tofu kind of gal. But, if you’re body is craving something, my philosophy is that you much need it. I called my mom, let her know that I was making dinner and stopped into the nearest grocery store for a few ingredients.
Generally, I make some sort of stuffed chicken breast. Sure we could have plain chicken, but were is the fun in that?! The possibilities for stuffing are endless! This time, I went with spinach and sun-dried tomatoes.
What would be your dream stuffing combo?
Sundried Tomato Stuffed Chicken
(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Nut-Free)

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup fresh Baby Spinach, packed & chopped
  • 1/4 cup julienned Sundried Tomatoes, re-hydrated
  • 1/4 cup Daiya Mozzerella Shreds
  • 2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast Flakes
  • 1 Tbsp Italian Herb Blend
  • Salt
  • Salt-Free Poultry Seasoning
  • 4 Organic Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Trim chicken breasts of any excess fat, etc….
  3. Cut a pocket in the side each chicken breast, started at the thickest point and carefully working downward.
  4. In a small bowl, combine the baby spinach, tomatoes, Daiya, nutritional yeast, and Italian herbs.
  5. Using your hands, stuff the cheese blend into the cavity of each chicken breast. This will be messy, but don’t be shy about getting all up close and personal with your chicken!
  6. Using a paper towel, clean off the outside of the chicken and season with salt & poultry seasoning.
  7. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and spray with non-stick cooking spray.
  8. Place the chicken in the hot skillet, being careful not to crowd the pan too much.
  9. Sear chicken 3 minutes on each side.
  10. Place in a glass baking dish and place in your pre-heated 350-degree oven.
  11. Bake for 15 minutes.
  12. Allow chicken to rest 3-5 minutes before serving atop an Herb Salad drizzled with fruity Balsamic Vinegar.
Let's Discuss!

