Mug Cake Makeover….

I have been getting back into the gym. Slowly but surely I have started running again, the free weights are becoming my friends, and that delicious soreness that comes from really working your muscles has taken hold. Call me masochistic, but I love the feeling of sore muscles. It means I worked hard!

All this working out has sure revved up my appetite, though. I’m fine with an increased appetite. I’m not trying to lose weight, just to increase muscle tone. I am, after all, a pocket-size little thing! 
Last night, I enjoyed a big bowl of GF pasta & roasted vegetables along with a glass of wine whilst watching the AMAs. Is it just me, or do Enrique Englasias & JLo need to retire. I am sooooo over them. Anyhoot, I was craving chocolate to get me through Enrique’s overdone performance. The answer… a chocolate mug cake. Most mug cakes have nutritional stats that would make a sumo wrestler blush. So, I gave it a healthy makeover! You could probably eat this for breakfast, it’s so healthy!
*WARNING* This is NOT a sweet dessert. I served mine with pumpkin puree on top for the sweetness. Feel free to add sweetener to yours as desired. Perhaps, more stevia! Also, I consider this to be 2 servings. Save half for dessert tomorrow night! 😉

Bitter Chocolate Mug Cake
(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tblsp Gluten-Free Oat Flour
  • 2 Tblsp Cocoa Powder
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 Tblsp Tofutti Better Than Sour Cream
  • 1 Tblsp Pumpkin Puree
  • 3 Tblsp Unsweetened Plain Almond Milk
  • 1/8 tsp Sweet Leaf Vanilla Creme Liquid Stevia

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients in a microwave save mug.
  2. Using a fork, stir until smooth.
  3. Place in a microwave and cook on high for 3 minutes. Cake will rise over the edge of the mug, but don’t worry! It will sink back down.
  4. Allow to cool in the mug about one minute before inverting onto a plate.
  5. Cut cake in half to make 2 servings.
  6. Top with more pumpkin puree, ice cream, or chocolate sauce.
Questions:
  1. Does your appetite go through the roof when you start working out? I already eat like a linebacker! Working out only perpetuates the problem.
  2. What is your favorite gym move? Without question, laterals are my jam!
  3. Are you a “sweet” or a “savory”? It depends on the day, though my definition of sweet tends to mean fruit.
Let's Discuss!

