My Inner "Fat Kid" is Happy….

Lately, I have been experimenting with pork. 
We all know I made a pretty wicked Pulled Pork, but that’s just one way of cooking it & I need to branch out. 
Growing up, my mom made pork tenderloin on a pretty regular basis. None of my friend’s moms did, just mine. To this day, a simple pork tenderloin reminds me of home. It makes me think of my mom running around taking care of all 5 of us kids, saying “Dinner is on the stove. Help yourself”. Meanwhile, she was helping one of us with homework, scrubbing out lunch boxes, and/or starting yet another load of laundry. She never sat down, and still doesn’t! 
Last weekend, I saw a pork tenderloin at the grocery store, got all nostalgic, & bought it on impulse. I had no idea how to cook it. I just knew that I wanted to. So… I did!
After church, I threw a little of this and a little of that into my trusty crock-pot, said a little prayer, & hoped for the best. Let me tell you what, by 4:30pm the aroma was so mouthwatering that my neighbors were jealous & the “fat kid” inside of me was doing a happy dance! 
By 6:00pm, the heavens started singing & dinner was served.

In honor of “Crock-tober”, I am linking this recipe to the My Baking Addiction recipe swap. Come join the fun at the My Baking Addiction and GoodLife Eats Holiday Recipe Swap sponsored by West Bend.


Crock-Pot Marinated Pork Tenderloin & Kabocha Squash
(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Nut-Free)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 a Pork Tenderloin (I bought mine already split)
  • 1/4 cup White Wine
  • 1 Tblsp Thyme
  • 1 Tblsp Rosemary
  • 1 Tblsp Parsley
  • Sea Salt
  • Black Pepper
  • 1/2 a Kabocha Squash, sliced into 3/4″ thick slices
  • 1 tsp Olive Oil
  • 1 Tblsp Bragg’s Liquid Aminos or Soy Sauce
  • 1.5 Tblsp House Blend from North Market Spices
  • 1/4 cup Water

 Directions:

  1. Place the pork in a shallow dish & sprinkle with thyme, rosemary, parsley, salt, & pepper.
  2. Evenly rub spices into the pork tenderloin.
  3. Drizzle with wine, cover, & refrigerate. Allow to marinate at least 1 hour, or over night.
  4. Place Kabocha squash in your crock-pot. 
  5. Drizzle squash with olive oil & Bragg’s & sprinkle with North Market House Seasoning.
  6. Toss squash to coat evenly.
  7. Place marinated pork tenderloin on top of the squash.
  8. Pour water around the pork.
  9. Cover & cook on low for 5-6 hours.
  10. Serve with a side of your favorite BBQ Sauce, if desired.
Questions:
  1. What food or foods reminds you of your mom or dad?
  2. If you could use only 1 condiment for the rest of your life what would it be?
One thought on “My Inner "Fat Kid" is Happy….

Let's Discuss!

