Sherry + Spinach = BFFs

I must say, I eat an abnormal amount of greens. Popeye, watch your back!
I could totally challenge you for the Spinach King/Queen title! I add it to smoothies, plate almost every lunch and dinner on a bed of spinach, add it to salads… Heck, I’ve even added it to ice cream! Every once in a while, I actually cook it, like a normal person. When it comes to a BBQ meal, like my BBQ Baked Tofu, a side of cooked greens are a MUST!
I always have a bottle of sherry handy for cooking purposes. I’ve never tasted it by itself, but added to recipe….. HEAVEN!!!!!!!!!!!! 
Seriously, the skies open up and angels start singing! Sherry & Curry, Sherry and Sour Cream…. oh don’t get me started! My favorite cake recipe even calls for Sherry! I’ve become distracted. Where was I? Oh yes, spinach! 
This delicious recipe can be made with regular garlic. I, however, used swoon-worthy Black Garlic. If you ever stumble upon this unusual ingredient snap it up, no matter the cost! It has a subtle, smooth flavor that adds elegance to simplest of recipes.
Sherried Spinach
(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Nut-Free, Vegan)

Ingredients:

  • 4 cloves Black Garlic, sliced
  • 3 large handfuls Baby Spinach
  • dash Sherry

Directions:

  1. Spray a skillet with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Over medium heat, saute garlic until fragrant.
  3. Add spinach and a dash of sherry and cook down until wilted.
One thought on “Sherry + Spinach = BFFs

  1. How fun to see the black garlic bedded in the spinach! The photo alone makes me want to get up and braise some spinach right this minute! Actually, I would like to just replicate the entire menu, and I just might since Tina is out of town!

Let's Discuss!

