Going Green….

Our local CSA has had an abundance of greens lately, due to the cold snaps. 
You won’t hear me complaining. This girl LOVES her greens! 
My in-laws, on the other hand, are not quite so sure. They don’t really know how to cook them, nor do they particularly love them. They are more “spinach people”. I guess a taste for greens has to be developed. I could eat them 3 times a day and be a happy little camper. 
I took an Indian twist last night with my greens. Trying a little something different. YUM! This version will definitely be making it into the rotation.
Indian Spiced Greens
(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Nut-Free)

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch Lacinato Kale
  • 1/2 bunch Collard Greens
  • 4-5 cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1 Tblsp Garam Masala
  • Black Pepper
  • Sea Salt
  • 1/3 cup Low Sodium, Organic Chicken Stock

Directions:

  1. Wash and cut greens into bite size pieces.
  2. Place all ingredients in a large pot, stir, and cover.
  3. Place over low heat for 20-30 minutes until soft.
Do you like your greens? What is your favorite way to enjoy them?
4 thoughts on “Going Green….

  1. Thank you for the congrats ;)I also love greens! I recently tried kale and am obsessed! I used Jenna (eat, live, run)'s recipe for bbq beans with kale- amazing! I haven't yet tried collards (which is funny because they're so readily available where I live)

  2. This sounds delish! I don't eat nearly the amount of greens that I should, but I love indian spices and will be trying this recipe out soon! One of my favorite kape recipes is a white bean and kale crock pot soup. Quick and easy and definitely a favorite everytime I make it!

Let's Discuss!

