Stress Induced Scones….

I admit it…. I am a “stress baker”. Whenever I feel stressed or anxious, for any reason, I bake. (see example)

Today, I took Dickens to the groomer. It’s this really cool place called The Green Dog Wash

They use all eco-friendly shampoos, etc…, low-flow hose nozzles, are cage free, and even save the discarded dog hair to send to a company that uses it to make a product used in cleaning up oil spills! However, poor little Dickens started shaking as soon as he realized I was going to leave him. I FELT AWFUL! I immediately ran home and began to bake. I didn’t have time to start making my Vegan Mexican Wedding Cookies. So, I made up something new! Apparently, today stress = scones! Bon Appetit!

So Delicious Chocolate Chip Scones
(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Nut-Free)

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Cover baking sheet with parchment paper (or spray with nonstick cooking spray).
  2. In food processor, place flours, cream of tartar, baking soda, xanthum gum, salt, and sugar. Pulse on and off to combine the ingredients.
  3. Add cold Earth Balance and pulse until the mixture resembles a coarse meal.
  4. In a small bowl, combine the lightly beaten egg, coconut milk creamer, and liquid stevia. Pour over the flour mixture and process  until the dough forms large curds.
  5. Scrape the dough into a bowl. Quickly, but gently fold in the chocolate chips with a spatula.
  6. On the baking sheet pat dough to into an 8 inch circle, 3/4 of an inch thick. Brush the top with the 2 Tblsp of coconut milk creamer.
  7. Bake 12-15 minutes. Allow to cool before cutting into 8 wedges.
Let's Discuss!

