Missing My Man, Mariposa, & Miso….

This week is rushing by at a crazy pace! A complete departure from the idyllic weekend I just spent with GF Guy….

I swear… I don’t know how people get anything done! It all started on Sunday. My husband’s side of the family threw an impromptu birthday celebration at our weekly Sunday dinner. Tita (my 82ish year old Grandmother) made me a GF/DF vanilla bundt cake with homemade Dairy Free Frosting! This was a huge feat for a woman who had never heard of gluten about 4 years ago. It was also a tremendous show of love! 

I brought my latest Pumpkin Pie experiment (everyone approved, even after I asked for their honest opinions!) 

Then work began….

I worked a 12 hour day on Monday, a 9 hour day on Tuesday and again today. I finally made it to the gym after a week and a half of not being able to work out! I hurt my achilles last time I visited GF Guy and it’s been very painful ever since. It killed me not being able to hit the gym. Working out always makes me feel more normal and in touch with myself and my life. 

Upon returning home, I was greeted by a fantastic surprise. A box from Mariposa Bakery was waiting on my doorstep with delicious Cinnamon Toast Biscotti, Pumpkin Bread, and Bread Cubes! Thank you Cari!!!! I had never tried their products. So far, I’ve only tried the Biscotti…. but it is PERFECTION!!! GF Biscotti tends to be rather soft and “un-biscotti like”, not so with the Mariposa Biscotti! Paired with a cup of hot tea, it was the perfect treat.

I “borrowed” this photo from the Mariposa Bakery website.

For dinner, I whipped together a pot of Miso Soup and enjoyed it with an unlikely pairing…. Pumpkin Cornbread. Somehow, it worked! Now, sit back relax and enjoy a delicious, comforting bowl of soup. You deserve it!
 

Miso Happy Soup
(Gluten-Free, Vegan)

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups No-Chicken Broth (made by Imagine Foods)
  • 1/2 cup Zucchini, julienned
  • 1/2 cup Carrots, julienned
  • 1/2 cup Sugar Snap Peas, sliced on the diagonal
  • 1 cluster fresh Beech Mushrooms
  • 2 Tblsp Red Miso (made with brown rice)
  • 1/2 cup Scallions (green onions), sliced
  • 1 (12oz) pkg Kelp Noodles, rinsed and cut to desired length
  • 1/4 cup fresh Cilantro, chopped

  Directions:

  1. In a large saucepan, bring the broth to a boil. 
  2. Lower the heat to medium, add the carrots and zucchini, and cook until crisp-tender; about 2 minutes.
  3. Add the sugar snap peas and cook until slightly tender, but still bright green; about 1 minute.
  4. Add the mushrooms and cook about 45 seconds.
  5. Remove from the heat.
  6. In a medium bowl, whisk together the miso and a ladelful of hot broth. Combine until smooth.
  7. Add the miso mixture to the soup. (Caution: Do not bring the soup to a boil once the miso is added or it will become gritty!)
  8. Just before serving, add the kelp noodles, scallions, and cilantro.

 I’m excited for this weekend. First, I will be manning our company’s booth at the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network’s Walk for Food Allergy. Then, I’m meeting up with my sisters and their boys. They are making me a surprise birthday dinner!
We all love cooking for each other and just hanging out. We don’t get to do it very often, so I am SUPER EXCITED!!!!!

3 thoughts on “Missing My Man, Mariposa, & Miso….

  1. Such wonderful blogs you write. I wish I could be with you all this weekend. But I will leave your "surprises" on the dining room table. PLease don't let your wild sister destroy my house. Love you have fun fun fun..Mother Dearest 🙂

  2. Sounds like you've been a busy women! So your family enjoyed the gluten free foods?? That's great! And good for your grandmother for experimenting a bit for her grandaughter's b-day, what a lady! Actually my Thanksgiving this year will be gluten free (mostly) because my cousin was recently diagnosed with Celiac. I'm actually kind of excited!

Let's Discuss!

