Sugar-Free For You and Me….

As promised, here is another “Holiday Head-Start” recipe! November is Diabetes Awareness Month, which I find to be rather ironic due to the gross amounts of sugar and carbs consumed over the holidays. Be that as it may, I have taken it upon myself to develop a Gluten-Free, Vegan, Sugar-Free Pie recipe that can be enjoyed by all. This is the first pre-mutation. I am not 100% satisfied with it yet. It still has a bit of a Stevia aftertaste. I think I know what can be done to rectify that situation. Until then, here is Attempt Number One. Any suggestions are welcome!

Pumpkin Pie (Take One!)
(Gluten-Free, Vegan, Sugar-Free)
Serves 8

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups Vanilla Hemp Milk
  • 2 Tblsp Flax Seed Meal
  • 1/4 cup Water
  • 1 Tblsp Cornstarch
  • 1 can Pumpkin Puree
  • 1/4 cup Coconut Flour
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 3/4 tsp Vanilla Creme Liquid Stevia
  • 1/4 tsp Ginger
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground Cloves
  • 1/2 tsp Salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Spray a glass pie plate with non-stick cooking spray.
  3. Combine the first 4 ingredients in a blender until well combined.
  4. Add the remaining ingredients and blend about 2 minutes.
  5. Pour into prepared pie plate and bake about 1 hour until edges are lightly browned.
  6. Allow to cool completely on the counter.
  7. Refrigerate over night before serving.
5 thoughts on “Sugar-Free For You and Me….

  1. You could back off on the stevia and use some honey but then you would loose the vegan status. I get the vegan issue but come one people, without managed honey bees we would loose over 1/3 of our food source and that includes all those vegan friendly staples.

  2. Sounds delicious! I love the addition of coconut flour. I'll def. have to make this for Thanksgiving as I haven't been sitting well with gluten and I stay away from sugar.

  3. Great recipe! I have to do a Store Tour soon on creating a healthier Thanksgiving meal. I was looking for a good sugar-free recipe, but this is even better since it's also vegan! I wonder if people will go for it….hmmm. Well I think the key is to not tell anyone that it is SF and/or vegan. That way they won't go into it with negative thoughts. I bet it tastes great.

Let's Discuss!

