Makin’ Whoopie….

Pies, that is!
I had some of you awfully curious, now didn’t I!
I am going to get to the recipe, but first I need to clear something up. A few of you, after reading/watching my last post, thought I was married to Constantine Maroulis. 
I am not! My husband, GF Guy, is one of the stage managers for the show Constantine is starring in, Rock of Ages. Click here to check out the tour website and see if they will be playing a city near you!
GF Guy and I are on the far left. Constantine is the 3rd one from the end on the right. See, even opposite sides of the segway tour group!
 My momma taught me well. Always marry the management! 😉
Anyway, back to this post….. a little known fact, I lived in Lancaster, PA for about 1 year after college.
While there, I learned to appreciate the culinary wonder that is the Whoopie Pie. For those of you who have had the great misfortune to have never heard of this delectable morsel of joy, here is the technical definition:
“A whoopie pie (alternatively called a gob, black-and-white, bob, or “BFO” for Big Fat Oreo) is a baked good made of two round mound-shaped pieces of chocolate cake, sometimes pumpkin cake, with a sweet, creamy frosting sandwiched between them. While considered a New England phenomenon and a Pennsylvania Amish tradition, they are increasingly sold throughout the United States. According to food historians, Amish women would bake these (known as hucklebucks at the time) and put them in farmers’ lunchboxes. When farmers would find these treats in their lunch, they would shout “Whoopie!”
At 10PM Tuesday evening, I decided to attempt to recreate this recipe to be GF and Dairy Free. Don’t ask me why… it was a bad decision. Not to say these are not worth the time and effort, I am just still trying to recover from the sleep deprivation! Next time, I will make the cookies about half this size. They were all huge! But, that didn’t stop me from “hoover-ing” one down in one sitting! 
Now sit back relax and enjoy the makings of a dessert of epic proportions!
Whoopie Pies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Spectrum Organic Shortening
  • 1 cup packed Light Brown Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/4 cup Carob Powder
  • 3/4 cup Brown Rice Flour
  • 3/4 cup Sorghum Flour
  • 1/2 cup Tapioca Starch
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Xanthum Gum
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 cup Almond Milk
  • Whoopie Pie Filling (See my Fluffy Vanilla Frosting Recipe)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease 2 baking sheets.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the shortening, egg, and brown sugar until smooth.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the flours, carob, and remaining dry ingredients.
  4. In a small bowl, combine the almond milk and vanilla extract.
  5. Alternately add the dry ingredients and the almond milk mixture to the shortening mixture, beating until smooth.
  6. Drop by about 1/8 cup scoops (I did 1/4 cup scoops) onto prepared baking sheets.
  7. Bake about 15 minutes, or until firm to the touch.
  8. Allow to cool completely on a wire baking rack before frosting.
  9. Spread prepared frosting on the flat side of one “cookie” and sandwich with another “cookie”. Repeat with remaining “cookies”.
  10. Individually wrap Whoopie Pies in saran wrap. May be frozen.
These would also be amazing with my Vegan Peanut Butter Frosting!!!!
Have you ever had a Whoopie Pie? What is your favorite dessert?
Mine is, hands down, Pumpkin Pie!!!!!!
3 thoughts on “Makin’ Whoopie….

  1. O.K. so what in the world were you doing in Lancaster? Totally takes me by surprise. Katrina, anyone who starts anything at 10pm needs their head examined (said with great affection of course). All joking aside, your mamma got it right! Constantine might be famous but he pales in comparison to GF guy on all accounts! Can we just start with the superficial, um . . . hands down Michael is much better looking. I won't get into character here but again, Michael, no competition. Get some sleep sister!

Let's Discuss!

