My Kind of Town….

Hello everyone! I am still in Chicago visiting my wonderful Hubby! I have been a bad blogger and not taken many photos. 
I made a decision to spend this time focusing on my husband instead of taking pictures for the blog. Sorry, but I decided to be selfish on this one.
Since I am hanging out at the hotel tonight while GF Guy is at the theater, I have a bit of time to do a quick mid-trip post.
Food wise, I have only gotten sick once! I know, I know.. that’s one time too many. But, considering all we have done is eat out, it’s not too shabby. 
The culprit was a breakfast place called Yolk. I called ahead and spoke to the manager over the phone and after I arrived. We discussed cross contamination, etc… but to no avail. I ended up stuck in the hotel room for the remainder of the day. 

Aside from Yolk, the food and service has been wonderful! Maybe I am having a charmed trip, but I’ll take it! Our favorite restaurants from this trip to Chicago include:

  • Big Bowl (GF menu and awesome service- Get the Tofu & Vegetable Pad Thai!!!!)
  • Flat Top Grill (GF menu and again awesome service)
  • Epic Burger (no special menu, but the only thing “unsafe” are the buns; just ask for extra lettuce or bring your own)
  • Su Casa (no special menu, but plenty of options)
  • Noodles & Co. (they messed up my order, but apologized profusely, the manager made me a new meal, & gave me a voucher for a free meal)
  • Argo Tea (they sell GF/DF cookies in addition to having some amazing herbal teas!)
 It is so much easier to eat out here, in Chicago, than it is at home! Most of the restaurants have GF menus or are, at least, knowledgeable about it. 
I also stocked up on Glutenfreeda Instant Oatmeal packets and Larabars and have been eating fruit like a little champion!
But enough about the food, on to the fun!
I spent a few days exploring the city by myself because GF Guy had matinee and evening shows. The first day I visited the Adler Planetarium. It was about a 2 to 2.5 mile walk to the planetarium, not a bad little jaunt!
I haven’t worked out much since coming to Chicago. I am rationalizing my laziness by saying that I am walking a lot more than normal, which is true. I am walking at the very least 2 miles a day. That is if I go straight from the hotel to the theater and back, with no stopping in between or veering from the main path for food, etc…. 
The following day, my favorite museum, The Art Institute, was calling my name! I spent four hours visiting my favorite painting by Georges Seurat 
and reveling in the beauty, color, and light of the countless other great works of art housed in that wonderful building.
Don’t worry, I haven’t spent all my time by myself! I tagged along with GF Guy and the cast of Rock of Ages for a few Broadway in Chicago sponsored activities! My favorite by far was a 3 hour guided Segway tour of the city by Absolutely Chicago Segway Tours. 
There is no better way to see the city! We were surprised to find a few news crews waiting for us at the Segway Tour location. They interviewed Constantine and a few other cast members and followed us around filming and taking pictures. We also took an architecture boat tour that was delightful. This city has some of the best, most diverse architecture!
Today, the weather was gorgeous so GF Guy and I took our lunch to a small park by the “beach” and Navy Pier for a picnic
It’s days like these that make me wish I was touring with him again. **sigh**
Okay, I will catch up with you all later!
4 thoughts on “My Kind of Town….

  1. Ahhhh! A segway tour, that is so awesome. Last year my family and I went to West Edmonton Mall and low and behold you could rent segways there! They even had an obstacle course. My husband and I totally wanted to rent a couple…But where would we put the kids?! Glad your having a great time in Chicago (but then again sorry to hear you got sick). Don't worry about the pictures, sometimes you have to just enjoy yourself.

  2. Wow, you are sure packing it in! I am reminiscing in so many memories as I read this post. I simply love downtown Chicago. Although I lived in Evanston for ten years, much of my time was spend downtown as Northwesterns Nursing program was actually at the downtown location. So many fun things to do. Enjoy the rest of your time!

Let's Discuss!

