Double Down….

Sunday I did something I have never done before. 
This something has always intimidated me. In hindsight, it was a silly thing to be scared of. It turned out to be rather simple and fun!
Okay, okay… enough suspense! I made……..
A TWO LAYER CAKE!!!!!!!!!
This was the most moist, delicious cake on the planet! The occasion was my Pop’s birthday. He is 80-some-odd years old and cuter than ever! Look at him enjoying all the attention on his big day!
I used the King Arthur Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Mix. The cake was springy, light, and sheer perfection!
For the frosting, I was inspired by GF Guy, and every male member of his family, to make a Vegan Peanut Butter Frosting. The men on his side of the family are obsessed with everything Peanut Butter!
Vegan Peanut Butter Frosting
(Gluten-Free, Vegan)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance Non-Dairy Buttery Sticks, softened
  • 1 cup organic Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 5-7 Tblsp Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 2 cups organic Confectioners Sugar

Directions:

  1. Place the Earth Balance and Peanut Butter in a medium bowl and beat with an electric mixer on medium speed.
  2. Gradually mix in the sugar.
  3. When mixture becomes thick begin adding the Almond Milk, one tablespoon at a time, until all sugar is incorporated and frosting is thick and spreadable.
  4. Beat at least 3 minutes for frosting to become thick and fluffy.
This was a remarkably light combination. Not too sweet or rich, it did not sit in your stomach after being eaten, as many frosted cakes do. 
Everyone raved about it. In fact, I’ve already had a request for my cousin’s birthday!

What was is your favorite cake/frosting flavor combination? 

– I have a thing for German Chocolate Cake, probably because it is my mom’s favorite! (Love you Mom!)

11 thoughts on “Double Down….

  1. Fave has to be yellow cake with cocoa buttercream frosting. My older brother used to make one at least once a month growing up. I think he learned the recipe in Home Ec during Middle school and its the only thing he really aced!*Wish I could try more of your stuff but being gluten free is HARD in Japan!* I drool over the pictures, anyway.

  2. Congratulations on your first 2 layer cake. It looks great. I love the frosting idea. I haven't tried making frosting since going dairy free, but I'll have to with some birthdays coming up.

  3. Sounds so delicious and super easy! I must try it! My favorite is lemon anything, but a traditional cake favorite of mine is chocolate cake with peppermint icing. I make it for my birthday which is 5 days before xmas. I make a vanilla buttercream using EB and hemp or almond milk then crush candy canes and mix in. So yummy!

  4. Ooh that looks amazing! I made my first two layer cake recently too! I think my favorite flavor would be some sort of dark chocolate cake with a vanilla frosting. Although if you ask me tomorrow, I'll probably have a different answer.

  5. Hands down Tres Leches, but alas, hard to find a good GF version. German Chocolate, very close contender! I love the frosting in a good German Chocolate. You should come up with a good GF German Chocolate cake!

Let's Discuss!

