Do You Like Me?…

Why is it that no matter how old we get we are constantly seeking approval from others?
 We want to be liked, to be admired. We see other people walking around looking so cool and confident. When it all comes down to it, they harbor the same insecurities we do. 
No matter how old I get, I still feel like that awkward, gawky middle school-er, wired with braces from ear to ear timidly stepping out of my dad’s car on the first day of school.
Can you find me? Hint- Look for the crazy red hair!
  People perceive me to be this completely together, bold person living a charmed, easy life. In some ways it is true. I am blessed with a loving husband, a wonderful family, a job I love, and a comfortable home. 
Then there are days when I break two bottles of wine at work, fall and scrape my arm, forget to call my mother, and choose ignore the fact that my house hasn’t been dusted in two weeks! Those are the days I wish everyone could see me, and those are the days I wish I could see everyone else have. Those are the days that make us human. The days that make us connect.
Today, I worked for a few hours, then spent some quality time with my poor, lately neglected, puppy at the dog park. We played for a bit in the sun, then a bit more in the rain. We returned home to bake a 2 tier Chocolate Cake w/ Peanut Butter Frosting for my grandfather’s birthday party on Sunday. Today, I let my guard down. I let myself breathe. I let myself simply be. No television… no radio…. just a girl, her dog, and God. 
It was a good day….
5 thoughts on “Do You Like Me?…

  1. "We're all bozos on the bus, so we might as well sit back and enjoy the ride. -Wavy Gravy (clown activist)I love to think about this quote when I'm having "one of those days" and remember that we are all bumbling and stumbling through life trying to figure things out. Thanks for this honest reminder that we are not alone.

  2. okay, so the picture of you dancing? i spit diet coke all over the computer screen. (good thing it wasn't mine!) but every now and again we need to have days like that…days where we let ourselves breathe. to that end, if we ain't breathin', we DEAD!

Let's Discuss!

