Chestnuts and Coconuts….

More from the Test Kitchen!

A few days ago, I wrote a post about my ingredient guilt. My Fairy Blog Mother responded with a recipe link that incorporated 3 of the offending ingredients!
AMAZING!
I put together this recipe, but found the batter to be a bit dry. I added water…. and more water… and more water… until I finally reached a more muffin batter consistency. The resulting muffins tasted delicious! The combination of Chestnut Flour and Coconut Flour adds a natural, sweet nuttiness that I found addicting! Texture wise, these muffins are a bit on the crumbly side. Oh well! If you have any suggestions to fix that let me know! 
Next up: using the Chestnut Flour to make Biscotti!
Chestnut Carob Chip Muffins
(Gluten-Free, Dairy Free)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Chestnut Flour
  • 3/4 cup Coconut Flour
  • 3/4 cup Turbinado Sugar 
  • 1 Tblsp Molasses
  • 1 Tblsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 2 Eggs
  • 8 Tblsp Coconut Oil
  • 3/4 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 3/4 cup Water
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup Carob Chips (be sure they are Gluten-Free!!!!)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the flours, soda, powder, and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a separate bowl, using an electric mixer, cream together the coconut oil, sugar, and molasses.
  4. Add the eggs and beat until creamy.
  5. Add the vanilla and beat about 30 seconds more.
  6. Slowly add the flour mixture. About half way through add the milk and water. Continue adding the remaining flour mixture, beating until smooth.
  7. Stir in the carob chips.
  8. Drop by rounded spoonfuls into lined muffin tins.
  9. Bake 18-20 minutes.
  10. Cool on a wire baking rack.
3 thoughts on “Chestnuts and Coconuts….

  1. So glad you got to use the ingredients! I know coconut flour is a little difficult to work with and needs egg, usually more egg that you would expect. I wonder if the recipe did not take this into account.

  2. These look yummy! I've never baked with coconut flour, but that combination sounds delicious. I saw your question about chestnut flour recipes at my blog – not sure if you saw my reply, but for some reason I was thinking you didn't use any eggs! Several of the recipes that I use chestnut flour in do have eggs, but no dairy – so maybe some of them will be useful for your baking experiments! As far as the crumbly texture, you might try using a little fruit pectin (used for making jam – can usually be found with canning supplies). It thickens batter a little bit without being as gluey as xanthan gum.

Let's Discuss!

