Miso Happy….

I acquired some Red Miso a few weeks ago. Every time I open the refrigerator door, there it is… staring at me…
Okay…. That’s not the Red Miso, but that’s the grumpy face it was making in my imagination!
Does anyone else get “ingredient guilt”? You know… that guilty feeling every time you see a really cool ingredient you bought on a whim, but have never used.
Currently, my “ingredient guilt” items are: 
  • Chestnut Flour
  • Carob Chips 
  • Coconut Flour 
  • Coconut Nectar
  • Gluten Free Pancake Mix
Anyway, I finally decided to be brave and experiment with my miso. 
I was inspired by a Chef Cat Cora recipe I saw in the newspaper for Udon Noodle Soup. She used White Miso, but I decided Red was going to have to cut it! 🙂
The resulting soup is delicious, light but filling, and a new favorite!
Bon Appetit!
Kelp Miso Noodle Soup
(Gluten-Free, Vegan)

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups No-Chicken Broth (made by Imagine Foods)
  • 1/2 cup Zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup Sugar Snap Peas, sliced on the diagonal
  • 1 cluster fresh Beech Mushrooms
  • 2 Tblsp Red Miso (made with brown rice)
  • 1/2 cup Scallions (green onions), sliced
  • 1 (12oz) pkg Kelp Noodles, rinsed and cut to desired length

  Directions:

  1. In a large saucepan, bring the broth to a boil. 
  2. Lower the heat to medium, add the zucchini, and cook until crisp-tender; about 2 minutes.
  3. Add the sugar snap peas and cook until slightly tender, but still bright green; about 1 minute.
  4. Add the mushrooms and cook about 45 seconds.
  5. Remove from the heat.
  6. In a medium bowl, whisk together the miso and a ladelful of hot broth. Combine until smooth.
  7. Add the miso mixture to the soup. (Caution: Do not bring the soup to a boil once the miso is added or it will become gritty!)
  8. Add the kelp noodles and scallions.
 ***I enjoyed my soup with roasted Kabocha Squash. It was a delicious addition! Follow this link for the recipe, just subtract the potatoes.***
This is one meal GF Guy would not have like. Fungi freak him out! Along with being able to pee with the bathroom door open, being able to cook new and unusual foods is a perk of being a “theater widow”! (You’ve got to look on the sunny side of life, my friends!)
Until next time… Chin-up, smile, and carry on!

(PS- The next post will be a sprouting tutorial! My cousin used to run a major sprouting farm, and he showed me the ropes this week!)
4 thoughts on “Miso Happy….

  1. I have a plethora of ingredient guilt! I also get freezer space guilt, you know all that stuff that goes into the freezer and never gets used. Darn it all. I also have a tendency to purchase weird ingredients that are sold nearly in bulk and I need a teaspoon for a new recipe that never gets made again. But that chestnut flour, coconut flour and those carob chips could move right off your list this morning! http://www.msadventuresinitaly.com/blog/2008/04/15/chestnut-flour-chocolate-chunk-muffin-recipe/

  2. I love miso flavored things but I've never actually experimented with miso myself. There are some ingredients I like to leave up to the experts. But your soup turned out great!!

  3. I completely get ingredient guilt! I currently have guilt about peanut flour, which I'm super excited to use, but can't decide what to do with it. :)I've gone through miso guilt, too – never remember to use it.

  4. Thats the same face that MY red miso has been giving me that I bought on a whim and don't use. I'm excited to try this recipe with mushrooms from my farmers market that we just started a month or so ago! 🙂

Let's Discuss!

