A Rootin’ Tootin’ Cake Walk….

Tonight, I arrived home from work with a bottle of Root Beer. This may not seem strange to you, but it is if you know me. I don’t drink soda… EVER! So, what was I doing with a giant bottle of Root Beer? I had an idea, a crazy strange idea. It all began on last weekend’s road trip. My father in-law bought a giant bottle of root beer for a dollar at a random truck stop along the way. The smell was deliciously rich and sticky and sweet. I am embarrassed to admit, I wanted a sip! I decided instead to make a Root Beer Cake! It sounds strange, but it is surprisingly yummy and a fun twist on a classic! 
Enjoy!
 
Root Beer Float Cake
(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a Bundt Cake pan.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the cake mix, oil, eggs, and 12 oz root beer. Stir until smooth.
  3. Pour batter into prepared Bundt pan and bake 35-40 minutes, until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.
  4. Cool in pan 15 minutes. Turn out onto a plate to continue cooling. 
  5. Meanwhile, prepare glaze by whisking together powdered sugar and 3 Tblsp. root beer until smooth.
  6. Poke holes around the cake every 2 inches with a wooden skewer. Pour glaze over cake being sure to pour into holes.
  7. Serve with Vanilla Ice Cream (regular or coconut milk).
Do you drink soda now, or did you as a kid? What is/was your favorite? What is your beverage of choice now?
4 thoughts on “A Rootin’ Tootin’ Cake Walk….

  1. This sounds so unusual but intriguing. I don't actually drink much soda but I do drink a great deal of diet tonic water which I find very refreshing. I do like carbonated beverages, an occasional Limonata is a big treat. If I do indulge a 12 ounce can will last two or three days as a big swig is all I need to satisfy. But traditional soda, or pop as we call it up north, not so much. Coffee, tonic, water and homemade lemonade are the staples around here.

  2. This may break me out of my no baking streak. I think the girls will love the flavors of this cake. They love Virgil's rootbeer. I think my favorite soda as a kid was birch beer. Such a weird flavor for a kid to like but I LOVED IT!

Let's Discuss!

