I Made a Mookie!…

I was sent home this weekend with 2 new GF mixes to try. If they meet my stringent standards of excellence, we will sell them in the store. First up… Bloomfield Farms Gluten-Free Pancake and Waffle Mix.
Bloomfield Farms mixes are certified by the Celiac Sprue Association. Bonus!
 Unfortunately, quite a few of the mixes contain dairy and are made of simple, starch-y GF flours. Not a Bonus….
I still needed to give them a fair chance. Not one to simply follow instructions, I used the mix to transform a favorite muffin recipe of mine that I normally make with Bob’s Red Mill GF Pancake Mix. The resulting muffins started with a batter the texture of cookie dough and ended with delicious little muffins, hence the name of the following recipe. Enjoy!
Blueberry Mookies
Yield: 15 mookies
 
Ingredients:
– 2 Eggs
– 1/3 cup Oil
– 1/4 cup Unsweetened Apple Sauce
– 3/4 cup light Brown Sugar
– 1 cup Tofutti Better Than Sour Cream
– 2 tsp. pure Vanilla Extract
– 2 cups GF Pancake Mix
– 1 cup frozen Blueberries
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, oil, apple sauce, and brown sugar.
Add Tofutti and vanilla extract and whisk to combine.
Slowly add pancake mix until just blended.
Fold in frozen blueberries.
Spoon into greased muffin tins.
Bake 17-20 minutes until done.
They really are quite delicious!
Unfortunately, I tried their Bread Mix next. This time I followed the instructions, but ended up with a brick! Seriously, I could have killed someone with it, and it went straight into the garbage. Bread always turns out better when I make it from scratch. I have yet to be converted to a GF Bread Mix. I am willing to keep trying them, but have yet to find a decent one. Oh well….
In other news….
I have some really big news. It is unbelievable exciting and utterly devastating all at the same time. I can’t share it quite yet, and it is eating me alive. Just know I will be needing some serious support in the coming months.

This post is linked to GF Wednesdays hosted by the Gluten Free Homemaker.

Until tomorrow!
2 thoughts on “I Made a Mookie!…

Let's Discuss!

