Southern Comfort….

Living in the South, everyone seems to be obsessed with Sweet Tea. Not just any Sweet Tea, mind you. This Sweet Tea is so sweet you can feel little fire works going off in you mouth as you drink it. I, for one, loathe it! I know, I know… having grown up in the South, it should be my comfort food. Well guess again! 
I have always been a bit of an outsider living in the South. I grew up in the panhandle of Florida, basically lower Alabama. Miraculously, I don’t have a Southern accent. I have never gone hunting. I think Country Music is the most annoying thing on the radio. I don’t like fried food or bacon. I hate sweet tea. AND… to top it all off… I have never, and will never, own or drive a pick-up truck! 
Instead, I can imitate a spot on British accent. I love Shakespeare, Jane Austen, and going to the theater. I actually enjoy opera, but love the occasional rap song thrown in for good measure. Raw food and clean simple cooking methods are the joy of my little world. Water is my beverage of choice, but Kombucha is number 2. AND… my first care was a VW Beetle with a pink rose in the bud vase! How’s that for standing out in a crowd? Needless to say, I didn’t quite fit in with our huntin’, fishin’, football lovin’ local high school crowd. But, that’s what makes life interesting, no?! 😉
All that leads up to today’s recipe. I invited my family over for a little “housewarming/brother home from college” dinner party. It was an informal affair, but I enjoyed prepping none the less. I made a delicious Sweet and Sour Chickpea Stir-fry served over Quinoa (which none of my family members had eaten before!) and Peanut Butter, Banana, Chocolate Chip Blondies and Chocolate Chip Coconut Milk Ice Cream for dessert (Don’t worry! These recipes will be posted!), but I still needed a beverage. You see, my family does not eat like I do. They like to, but just don’t really have the time to do a full pantry and lifestyle re-haul. Normally, at a family dinner, there are 2 gallons of Diabetic Coma inducing Sweet Tea, moo-cow Milk, and water. Well… I don’t have moo-cow milk, and I was not about to buy that ridiculous sweet tea. Enter Celestial Seasons True Blueberry Herbal Tea and Xagave Agave Nectar. I went digging through my tea stash and decided this sounded just right for a refreshing summer beverage. Next order of business, choosing a sweetener. I didn’t have much Turbinado Sugar on hand, so I went with Agave Nectar. The smooth mellow sweetness was the perfect compliment to the light blueberry tea. Having never attempted to make sweet tea, I was pleasantly surprised by how simple it was! 
 Serve this refreshing, summer beverage at your next backyard BBQ! Your guests will love it!
Blueberry Sweet Tea
Ingredients:
– 1 gallon boiling Water, separated
– 11 Celestial Seasons True Blueberry Herbal Tea Bags
– 10 Tblsp Agave Nectar
Boil half a gallon of water in a tea pot and pour into a heat safe container with blueberry tea bags.
While tea steeps, bring the remaining half gallon of water to a boil in a tea pot. 
Once boiling, add remaining water to the container of steeping tea.
Remove the tea bags and stir in Agave Nectar.
Chill and serve.
Now for some updated house photos!
Progress is being made. Slowly, but surely our house is becoming a home!

We finally picked out a buffet for the dining nook and a bookshelf for the office. We will be getting those sometime this week. I some people (wink, Averie) like to unpack immediately and get everything organized. I, on the other hand, would rather take my time, making constant, little changes, until I find just the right look and feel. I have become so much more relaxed in my “old” age! 😉 Well, I’m off to celebrate Father’s Day and 2, count ’em, 2 birthdays at Tita’s. She is making Chicken and Yellow Rice, my FAVORITE!!!!! Gotta love Cuban food!


Finally…… an ode to my daddy on Father’s Day!
My daddy has always worked hard to provide for his family, harder than most. He is amazingly kind, loving, “tolerant” (having 4 daughters will do that to you!), and the best example of what a loving, Godly man should be that I could ever wish for. He has always gone above and beyond to make sure his daughters are well taken care of. (I mean, seriously, he made GF Guy take him out to lunch and endure a grueling “interview” before he could take me out on a date!)
Thank you, Daddy, for always being there for me, for always letting me know I am loved, and for being the man God intended you to be. I love you!
One thought on “Southern Comfort….

  1. Awwwww….what a great Daddy you have! A true blessing. And I love the blueberry tea idea. Don't like that syrup-y sweet southern tea either – and I'm from Texas! No accent here either, but I have to say that country music is growing on me again, and hubby drives a pick-up truck – always has and probably always will. It's a small one, though! 😉

Let's Discuss!

