A Local Buzz….

People say incorporating local honey into your diet is a natural way to combat the typical watery-eyes, runny-nose joys of allergy season.
Today, we met up with my sister in-law and her new husband for lunch. My contribution to the meal was a batch of corn muffins created with her in mind. She has horrific allergies and is always looking for relief. I decided to make it easy for her to eat more local honey and combat her allergies naturally! In doing so, I created my new favorite Corn Muffin recipe! Enjoy!
Honey Corn Muffins
Ingredients:
– 1 cup Yellow Corn Meal
– 1 cup + 4 Tblsp. Gluten Free Baking Mix
– 3 1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
– 1/4 tsp. Salt
– 1/3 cup Local Honey
– 1 Egg
– 1/3 cup Oil
– 1 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.
Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until combined.
Spoon into a 12 cup muffin tin.
Bake 15 minutes until skewer inserted into the center comes out clean.
Allow to cool on a wire rack.
Honey “Butter”
Ingredients:
– 1/3 cup Earth Balance Dairy Free Margarine Spread w/ Olive Oil
– 1 1/2 – 2 tsp. Local Honey
In a small bowl, combine Earth Balance and 1 1/2 tsp. Honey until well blended.
Taste and add more Honey if desired.
I think I’m finally getting comfortable in my new kitchen! Slowly, but surely, the creative juices are starting to flow again. 
I still haven’t found the camera adapter. I am about to go our and buy a new one, dag-nabit! My blog is suffering! Oh well! So, how has your weekend been? Have you done anything exciting?
4 thoughts on “A Local Buzz….

  1. I don't think I've heard that about honey but anything that eliminates nasal sprays and pills is a good choice by me! 🙂 I love corn bread, especially with honey butter!

  2. Can't wait to send you some Minnesota honey from a local beekeeper, hum who could that be? Good to see you posting again. You are a very cheerful spot in my very grim and stressful world.

Let's Discuss!

