Big B….

Hello my friends! It has been so long! We, in the Gidget household, have been enjoying lots of time with family and friends, working hard, and simply living! I have really been diving head first into my job and am absolutely loving it. There is something so satisfying about actively contributing to the success of a company you truly believe in. 
I recently started a store wide product demo campaign. Every Tuesday in Tampa and every Friday in St. Pete, we have Tasty Tuesday and Foodie Friday. I put together new recipes, design recipe cards, and demo these new recipes in the stores. Shoppers can then purchase the ingredients and go home to recreate the recipes for their families! It is so much fun! Last week I demoed my Buckwheat Tabbouleh. This week we are featuring my Agave Baked Lentils. What is next week?…. You will have to come to Florida to find out! 
I also get to plan our participation in community events. On May 1st, we will be hosting a booth at Autism Speaks Walk for Autism! I am so excited to be able to give back in such a fun, significant way!
Food news this week has been lots of Gidget recipe classics… Spiralized Zucchini with Marinara and Turkey & Spinach Meatballs, Italian Mac n’ Cheeze, …. and a leftover reinvention!
Tita sent us home last Sunday with a huge tupperware full of her insanely yummy black beans. I reinvented them last night by creating my version of Black Bean Burgers. I had a leftover BB Burger this afternoon atop my salad and it was delicious, even cold! Next time you find yourself with leftover black beans consider this recipe. It is delicious, quick, and healthy! Cheers!

Gidget’s Black Beauty Burgers

Ingredients:
– about 1 cans worth of Black Beans, drained and rinsed
– 1/4 Yellow Onion, finely chopped
– 1/2 large Carrot, finely chopped
– 1/2 cup frozen, chopped Spinach, thawed and drained
– 1 1/2 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– 1 Egg (I’m sure a flax egg would work as well)
– 2 cloves Garlic, minced
– 1 tablespoon Ketchup
– 1/2 teaspoon Worchester Sauce (Lea & Perrins in GF in the U.S.)
– Herbamare and Black Pepper to taste
– 1/2 teaspoon Basil
– 1/2 teaspoon Cumin
– about 1/4 cup GF Italian Bread Crumbs (I used Gillian’s)
– 1/4 cup Brown Rice Flour
Place black beans in a bowl and mash with a fork.
Add remaining ingredients, remove your rings, and go to town! Mix until thoroughly combined.
Form into 5 patties.
Heat a skillet over medium heat and spray with non-stick cooking spray.
Cook burgers about 8-10 minutes per side until browned and heated through.
GF Guy and I wrapped our burgers in large leaves of some amazing Locally Grown Hydroponic Lettuce we purchase at the local Farmer’s Market and topped them with thick slices of Tomato. Ketchup and BBQ Sauce were also on hand for dipping purposes. Sweet Potato Fries were the natural accompaniment to this backyard classic!
I hope you are all having a productive week! I look forward to hearing what you have been up to!
7 thoughts on “Big B….

  1. Can't wait to try these!!Your job sounds so perfect for you. So proud of you!Things are good with me! Just had an amazing long weekend and looking forward to a weekend filled with birthday festivities this weekend!

  2. Love the name, and I bet they are totally yum! I had some black bean quesadillas for my breakfast this morning. Leftovers. :-)I'm so happy that you are enjoying your job so much. Sounds like you are really making a difference on a daily basis, Katrina–very, very cool for all involved!Shirley

Let's Discuss!

