Rise and Shine…

When I was in elementary school, our school cafeteria served the most delicious Honey Yeast Rolls. I was rarely allowed to buy lunch at school. My mom packed my lunch all the way through my senior year of High School! But still, the taste and smell of those soft, pillow-y clouds of sweet yeast-y goodness linger in my memory. I stumbled upon this recipe for Gluten Free Honey and Flax Yeast Rolls at an absolutely inspired blog, Flour Arrangements, and new I had to make them! Naturally, I changed a few things based on what I had on hand. The resulting rolls were everything I could have imagined and more! Get ready for some goodness my friends! This is what I did. Check out the original recipe and have fun exploring all of the wonderful recipes found on Flour Arrangements!
Honey and Flax Yeast Rolls
Ingredients
– 2 1/4 teaspoons Yeast
– 1 1/2 tablespoons Sugar
– 1/2 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk (warmed in the micro for 45 seconds)
– 3/4 cup Brown Rice Flour
– 1/2 cup Sorghum Flour
– 2 tablespoons Ground Flax Seed Meal
– 1/4 cup Corn Meal
– 1/4 cup Potato Starch
– 1/4 cup Tapioca Starch
– 2 1/4 teaspoons Xanthum Gum
– 1/2 teaspoon Sea Salt
– 2 tablespoons Honey
– 2 1/2 tablespoons Coconut Oil, liquified
– 1/4 cup room temp, Unsweetened Almond Milk
– 1 tablespoon Honey, for drizzling
– 2 teaspoons Ground Flax Seed, for sprinkling
– 1 tablespoon Dairy-Free Margarine, melted for brushing on top of rolls
I followed the original recipe instructions and the results were perfection! We enjoyed these for dinner alongside some homemade Chicken Noodle Soup. That along with the thunder storm outside made for a cozy evening!

Do you have any random food memories from you childhood?
9 thoughts on “Rise and Shine…

  1. They look yummy. A must try! By the way – you had a nice Mommy to pack your lunch all the way through senior year. I bet she would have let you buy lunch if you so desired. lol But by the looks of those buns I would have bought one even if I packed lunch…..I love you sweet daughterMommy 🙂

  2. Can't wait for spring thunder storms! The rolls look yummy! You were indeed lucky to bring your own lunch to school, but probably didn't alway see it that way. I went to a private catholic school k-12 and we had to eat hot lunch at school! At least twice a week they served some crazy dish called green rice, nothing as good as honey yeast rolls. You brought back some memories for me with this post.

  3. They look great! My mom packed my lunch all the way through high school too. 🙂 Tortellini with pesto was my favorite! There were a lot of pb&j's though too.

  4. Hey hey! My mom packed my lunch through senior year too! So funny- I hated it then…but now think about how much more healthy/nutritious my meals were vs. the school lunches. These rolls look awesome. They're screaming morning breakfast to me!

  5. I thought I left a comment on this post when I read it, but I guess not. I'm glad I checked. The rolls look delicious and I like your new blog design!

  6. those look great! almost look like donuts hehe.a random food memory from my childhood?well the first thing that pops into my mind are the teddy bear pancakes my mom used to make!

Let's Discuss!

