Le Printemps Est Ici….

Spring is here!!!!! 
 
I love spring! New beginnings, warmer weather, fresh produce…. What is there not to love? The day started with something new. GF Guy and I split a locally made GF Belgian Waffle. Let me tell you… it was insanely yummy! The waffle was made of Buckwheat flour and was sweet, fluffy perfection. I also ate the other half of the Grapefruit I picked on Sunday. 
Seriously… the best grapefruit EVER! Then we settled on a plan for the day. To celebrate the first day of Spring, GF Guy, Dickens, and I took a ride in GF Guy’s convertible to the St. Petersburg Saturday Morning Farmer’s Market. 
We stocked up on all sorts of wonderful locally grown, organic produce.

Hydroponic Lettuce, Lacinato Kale, Zucchini, Romanesco, and Nasturtium (only $1.00!!!)
Mini Seedless Watermelon, Roma Tomato, and a Kiwi
Unpictured: Beets
We also stopped for a delightful lunch of salads bursting with fresh, organic veggies and oven-baked sweet potato fries.

Dinner was a thrown together impulse meal with no rhyme or reason. I just used whatever ingredients stood out to me at the moment. Enjoy!

Spring Surprise

Ingredients:
– 1 head Romanesco, cut into florets
– 2 Carrots, chopped
– 1/2 Red Onion, chopped
– 2 cloves Garlic, pressed
– 2 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– 2 teaspoons Lemon Juice
– Herbamare & Black Pepper
– palmful Thyme
– palmful Rosemary
– 1 cup Buckwheat (Kasha)
– 2 cups Water
– 1/4 cup White Wine
– 1/4 cup Apple Cider
– splash Low Sodium Chicken Stock (or Veg. Stock)
– 1 teaspoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– 1/3 pound Spinach
– 1 can Chickpeas, drained and rinsed
– Vegan Parmesan
– freshly chopped Basil & Parsley
– Nasturtium (garnish)
– Tomato, diced (garnish)

 Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
In a large bowl, combine Romanesco, Carrots, Onion, Garlic, EVOO, Lemon Juice, and spices. Toss together until evenly coated. Roast on a foil lined baking sheet 45 minutes.
Meanwhile, bring 2 cups of Water to a boil. Add 1 cup Buckwheat, cover and reduce heat to a simmer. Cook until all water is absorbed, about 20-25 minutes.
In a large skillet, combine Wine, Cider, Stock, Oil, and Spinach. Cover and allow to cook over low heat until spinach is wilted. Add Chickpeas and continue cooking until heated through.
Plate and garnish with Parm. , fresh herbs, flowers, and tomato.


Have you ever eaten flowers? Would you?
Also, check out this post by Kitchen Princess. She manages to parallel every life lesson you could ever need with the jam making process! It is brilliant!

10 thoughts on “Le Printemps Est Ici….

  1. What a great first day of spring you all had 🙂 Our farmers market opens on April 1 and I cannot wait! We already have set plans to go in and get some fresh goodies. I haven't eaten flowers but would do so if presented the opportunity 😉 Thanks for the dog food info!

  2. What lovely pictures of the joys of Spring! The farm I get my produce from gives us edible flowers every Summer. They add such pizazz to our salads. Enjoy the sunshine!

  3. Whoa! I was totally at the Saturday Market in St Pete too! I found myself wishing I had brought my camera so I could take some of these fabulous photos – glad to see you took advantage! Still not sure what those pointy veggies were at the organic market – I overheard someone saying you can steam them like cauliflower or broccoli?

Let's Discuss!

