I’m One!!!!!…..

I just realized today is my One Year Blog-iversary! 
I almost missed it! I can’t believe it’s only been one year. Gluten Free Gidget has been such a wonderful, fulfilling journey. I have met so many wonderful people and learned so much through blogging. I want to take this time to thank each and every one of you. You mean the world to me! 
Now, business as usual…
GF Guy loves Pasta with Vodka Sauce. I decided to try my hand at it. Unfortunately, I ran out of Vodka and had to improvise. The taste did not suffer, nor did our stomachs! I also used the leftover tofu filling from my Stuffed Chicken recipe instead of the usual heavy cream. Again, delicious! Enjoy!
Drunken Pasta
Ingredients:
– 16oz. Gluten Free Pasta
– 1 tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– 1 tablespoon Earth Balance Margarine
– 1/8 of a Yellow Onion, diced
– 2 cloves Garlic, minced
– 1/2 cup Vodka
– 1/2 cup dry White Wine
– 1 cup Low Sodium, Organic Chicken Stock
– 1 can (24 oz.) Tomato Puree
– 1 can (14.5 oz.) Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes
– 3 to 4 tablespoons Basil
– Herbamare and Black Pepper, to taste

In a large skillet, saute onion and garlic in oil and margarine 3-5 minutes.
Add vodka and reduce by half.
Add stock and tomatoes, bring to a bubble and reduce heat to a simmer. Season with Basil, Herbamare, and Black Pepper.
While sauce simmers, cook pasta according to package instructions, drain, and set aside.
Stir tofu filling into the sauce. Return sauce to a bubble and remove from heat.
Toss pasta with sauce and a sprinkle of Vegan Parm and serve.
Because GF Guy and I are veggie lovers, we added peas, steamed broccoli, and steamed spinach to our plates.
It is always such a sense of accomplishment when you are able to use leftover ingredients! Isn’t it? Speaking of leftovers, this recipe makes a HUGE amount of pasta and sauce. Either prepare yourself to have lots of leftovers, or plan to feed a small army!

Do you have an ingredient you always seen to have leftovers of? How do you use it?
15 thoughts on “I’m One!!!!!…..

  1. Happy Anniversary! I love your blog to pieces. This recipe looks really good. Now that I have found a suitable gluten free alternative for pasta I actually enjoy dishes like this again!

  2. awa GFG!!!! HAPPY BLOGGIE BIRTHDAY, my love 🙂 thank you for being such a sweet, optimistic, compassionate friend who never fails to make my mouth water 🙂 love you!

  3. happy blogiversary!i do love leftovers, but sometimes there is just too much! i tend to freeze my leftovers for future meals (if I don't want to eat it for the rest of the week).I always seem to have a lot of leftover rice. I'll usually make brown rice crackers with the rest of it, yummy!

  4. You've certainly added a lot to the blogosphere. I'm glad you're enjoying it. Your recipe sounds great, especially the sauce with the vodka, wine, and stock. Thanks for sharing it on Gluten-Free Wednesday.

Let's Discuss!

