I Changed My Mind….

So… Here’s the story. I made this recipe a few days ago, but didn’t post about it. It was a recipe I thought sounded like a good idea, but, seemed to lack the flavor kick I was expecting.  Not one to let food go to waste, I have been spooning the leftovers on top of my salads for lunch the past 2 days. Surprise, surprise…. IT TASTES GOOD COLD! I guess the flavors just needed time to meld together. Huh?! Who would have thunk? I guess this meal is like cheese, wine, and men. It just gets better with age!
I didn’t write the recipe down since I didn’t think I would be posting it. This is what I think I did. Feel free to improvise, add more spices, etc… (as usual!) After all, that’s what I would do! 😉

Fix It and Forget It Curry

Ingredients:
– 1 small Kabocha Squash, cut into bite size pieces
– 1 tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– Herbamare & Black Pepper
– 1/2 Yellow Onion, chopped
– 1 carrot, chopped
– 2 cloves Garlic, minced
– 1 teaspoon Garam Masala
– Herbamare & Black Pepper
– 1 head Green Kale, cut into bite size pieces
– 1 can Chickpeas, drained and rinsed
– 1/4 cup Low Sodium Chicken Stock
– 1 14.5oz. can Muir Glen Low Sodium Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes
– 1 can Light Coconut Milk
Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Toss the Kabocha Squash with Olive Oil, Herbamare and Pepper and roast about 40 minutes, until done. Set aside.
In a large skillet, saute onion and carrot until soft, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook about 1 minute.
Add the spices, kale, chickpeas, roasted Kabocha Squash, stock, and tomatoes. Reduce the heat, cover, and allow to simmer about 5 minutes.
Add the Coconut Milk, allow to simmer 10-15 minutes. 
Serve over Buckwheat (Kasha), Quinoa, or Rice, but it’s best cold on a salad!
Enjoy!
Do you have any recipes that just get better with age?
What about other things? What do you think is the one thing that just gets better with age?
5 thoughts on “I Changed My Mind….

  1. I love this, and I love your blog! I have been GF for almost 5 years and am actually enjoying it now that I have found my love for cooking! I think chili gets much better with age, all of those yummy spices!

  2. I think we women get better with age. 🙂 I do that a lot where I make something and it doesn't come out so great, but then it tastes great cold the next day.

  3. I definitely know what you mean about letting things sit, there are lots of times that leftovers just taste so much better the day after!I know this isn't quite the same, but I really like it when my rice puff cereal (or any cereal for that matter) sits in the milk for a nice long period of time. I like cereal mushy (weird I know!)I also believe that as we age, our wisdom gets better and our love for people grows so much stronger!

  4. This combination sounds fantastic! I have trouble finding Kabocha squash, but I'll have to try it with another type.I love soups and stews the next day, and lately I've started eating them cold the next day. The flavors are usually very different when it's cold, and sometimes it's a whole lot better – who knew?

Let's Discuss!

