I Am Officially A Snob….

I have been called a snob my entire life. I blame it on being an introverted bookworm who likes ballet, opera, & art. 
Those darn books gave me a large vocabulary! – 
I have been known to say, “I will go outside and check when there is a respite from the rain.” Who says “respite” anymore?! Me… that’s who! 
That darn ballet gave me ruler straight posture! – 
I often forget to lean against the backs of chairs when seated, causing others to think I am tense.
That darn opera gave me a love of languages! – 
Yes, I am that pretentious twit that actually says foreign words & names with the appropriate accent. (ie- Georges Seurat is not “George Sir-at”, but “Jorge Seurah”… I guess that’s how you would spell it phonetically. You get the idea.)
That darn art gave me a love of French Neo-Impressionism!
Do you know how dorky you look choosing to do a high-school class project on French Neo-Impressionistic art with an emphasis on Pointillism? 
Until now, I have staunchly denied any claims of apparent snobbery. I am shy & enjoy nerdy things! Embrace it people! However, tonight something happened. This something was beautiful, wonderful, and utterly snobby… AND I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Tonight…..
SNOBBY JOES ENTERED THE GIDGET HOUSEHOLD!!!!!!!
It has been a long time coming. In fact, Snobby Joes have been on my “to make” list for about 6 months. I hesitated because I was unsure as to how GF Guy would react. But, based on his latest reactions to the “strange” foods I have placed in front of him, I drew up the courage and forged ahead. I need not have worried. This recipe is a sure fire winner for Veg-Heads & Meat-Eaters, alike. I can’t wait to try it out on my carnivorous, hockey playing, “pull my finger”, little brother! These “Joes” may be the snobby kind, but they are sure to be loved by all!
Gidget’s Unpretentiously Snobby Joes
Ingredients:
– 1 cup Lentils
– 4 cups Water
– 1 Tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– 1/2 Yellow Onion, diced
– 1 large Carrot, chopped
– 2 stalks Celery, chopped
– 2 cloves Garlic, minced
– 1 can (8oz.) Muir Glen Tomato Sauce
– 2 oz. Tomato Paste
– 1 teaspoon dry Mustard
– 2 teaspoons Oregano
– 1 teaspoon Herbamare
– 3 Tablespoons Chili Powder
– 1/2 teaspoon Curry Powder
– 1/4 teaspoon Paprika
– 1/4 teaspoon Cumin
– dash Liquid Smoke
– 3 Tablespoons pure Maple Syrup
In a small, covered saucepan, bring water and lentils to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 20 minutes. Drain and set aside.
In a medium soup pot, heat oil over medium heat.
Saute the onion, carrots, & celery until soft, about 6-7 minutes. Add the garlic and continue to saute about 2 minutes, until fragrant.
Add the cooked lentils and remaining ingredients.
Heat through, then cover and remove from heat. 
Allow to sit for at least 10 minutes in order to meld the flavors.
I ate my “Joes” on a bed of steamed spinach and broccoli while, GF Guy enjoyed his portion atop a bed of spinach and baked polenta slices (left over from last night’s dinner). For a side dish, I made more “Kabocha Fries”. (We are now obsessed!)
This recipe made plenty for dinner and enough leftovers for another meal for both of us! High in fiber, vegan, AND delicious? YES, PLEASE! 
Are you, or were you, ever accused of being a snob? Why? Was it true?
11 thoughts on “I Am Officially A Snob….

  1. Ha this was a great post – I can def. relate though, I was a total bookworm and fine arts nerd myself – though my sister did the ballet, I was (and still am) hopelessly uncoordinated. This looks like a great inexpensive and tasty dinner that I think my husband would love – I've been meaning to make more things with lentils anyways – just one question – what is herbamare?

  2. Much better day in the kitchen for you. Let me know how it goes with the brother and if it passes his taste test I might consider trying it out on Tina, although it might be tooo spicy for her. Looks darn good!

  3. I would never have thought to use the word snobby to describe you, but I guess I can see how that happens. I think any introvert has a chance of being labeled that way. Snobby or not, you are funny and cute. Your snobby Joes look great! Thanks for participating in "What can I eat that's gluten free?"

  4. You have a way with words. Yummy looking snobby joes.Yesterday I picked a couple of apples from the market for my husband on our way to do some errands and he said he didn't like it and it tasted like a green apple. I was like "what"! I'm not an apple snob but I feel you should appreciate all apples. Although I have to say Golden delicious are too mushy for me. hee hee.

Let's Discuss!

