Playin’ With Polenta….

Mornin’! I don’t get it. It was 83 degrees here on Tuesday. I wore a short sleeve shirt & capri pants. Why is it 64 degrees again?! Dude! So, not cool…. (Well, it’s cool, but not in the way I would like it to be…) Moving on…..
Last night was another thrown together experimental pantry dinner. We had broccoli & cauliflower. We had Pre-made Polenta. We had Marinara Sauce. = DINNER! I threw everything together, seeing as it was 9:00 PM and we dined like starved children!
Quick Vegetable Polenta Stacks
Ingredients:
– 1 tube pre-made Polenta
– 1to 2 cups Marinara Sauce (depending on how much you prefer)
– a splash of Red Wine
– sprinkles of Garlic Powder, Oregano, Basil, Thyme, & Rosemary
– Broccoli & Cauliflower
– a few handfuls of Spinach
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
Slice the polenta into 1/4″ thick slices, place on a baking sheet lined with foil and sprayed w/ non-stick cooking spray.
Bake for 15 minutes, flip them over and bake for another 15 minutes.
Meanwhile, in a small saucepan over low heat combine the Marinara, Wine, Herbs & Spices, & a bit of Spinach. 
Cover and allow to heat through and wilt the Spinach.
Steam the vegetables to your desired consistency.
Assembly: 
I placed a slice of polenta on a bed of baby spinach, topped the polenta slice with a steamed veggies and a bit of marinara, put another slice of polenta and more marinara on top, et voila!
…Who am I kidding?! After the “beauty shot”, I dumped everything into a bowl along with more veggies and marinara, mixed it all up, and noshed away! HAHAHAHA!!!
Oh well! So much for an elegant dinner.
When it comes to your meals, do you prefer to throw everything into a bowl, or are you all about the presentation?
5 thoughts on “Playin’ With Polenta….

  1. Your meals always look so lovely. I am really short on presentation skills. I had all kinds of good intentions to photograph last nights dinner but when Tina said it looks so white I thought better of it. White plates, pork, grilled cauliflower and pan fried potatoes. Well it was awfully white looking. As for 64 degrees, I am way jealous, don't even mention the 80's.

  2. Throw it in a bowl and eat it! If I'm not photographing a meal for my blog, I just slap it together and scarf it down. Who cares what it looks like? It's all going to be smooshed up in my belleh before long…Also, you are whining about 64 degrees? Do you really expect sympathy? 😉

  3. If I am making the meal just for my self, then I love it all thrown in a bowl. But if I prepare a meal for someone else, or I am going to be taking a pic of it for my blog, then I like to make it look pretty!

Let's Discuss!

