They Have A Great Personality….

The weather has finally turned chilly here in sunny Florida. Finally, it feels like Christmas is here! To ward off the chill, I made a pot of Chicken and Vegetable Soup and Vegan Cheddar Biscuits. The soup was, in my humble opinion, the BEST I have ever made. What made the difference, you ask? The secret ingredient was my Homemade Crock Pot Turkey Stock. Homemade stock adds a whole new depth of flavor that simply can’t be achieved by store bought stocks and broths. I am now a homemade stock convert! The Vegan Cheddar Biscuits were outstanding, as well. (And by “outstanding” I mean GF Guy ate FOUR!) The only negative…. these biscuits are UGLY! In fact, they are so ugly I warned GF Guy before he saw them, “These biscuits aren’t pretty, but they have a great personality.” Open your hearts and stomachs to these homely little guys. You won’t regret it!

Vegan Cheddar Biscuits

Ingredients:
– 3/4 cup Sorghum Flour
– 1/4 cup Brown Rice Flour
– 1/4 cup Flax Seed Meal
– 3/4 cup Tapioca Starch
– 1 teaspoon Xanthum Gum
– 2 teaspoons Baking Powder
– 1/4 teaspoon Baking Soda
– 1/2 teaspoon Salt
– 1/3 teaspoon Freshly Ground Black Pepper
– 1 tablespoon Fresh Oregano, chopped
– 1 cup Hemp Milk mixed with 1 tablespoon Lemon Juice
– 3 tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– 1/2 cup shredded Vegan Cheddar Cheese (I used Follow Your Heart Vegan Gourmet Cheese)

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.
Mix together Hemp Milk and Lemon Juice and allow to sit 10 minutes.
In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients and spices.
In a small bowl, combine Hemp Milk mixture and Oil.
Add cheese and wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir to combine.
Place by spoonful onto a greased baking pan. (Yield = 12 biscuits)
Bake 11-13 minutes.

I submitted this recipe to Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays over at Simply Sugar & Gluten Free and Tempt My Tummy Tuesday and Tasty Tuesday!
What is your ugliest, yet yummiest, kitchen creation?

Don’t forget to enter my Cuisinart Frozen Yogurt, Ice Cream and Sorbet Maker Giveaway!!!!!

14 thoughts on “They Have A Great Personality….

  1. oh girl vegan cheddar bites…yum!thanks for the contest entries into my contest and I hope I win yours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!the follow your heart cheese…have never tried it, what's your opinion of it? ive heard mixed reviews. is it something you'd eat mixed IN other things, or could you eat it alone like on a cracker?sp

  2. These biscuits look fantastic. Thanks for the recipe! So you're giving away an ice cream maker?! Oh my gosh. I'd enter if I didn't already have one, but let me just say it's the BEST gift I've ever received! Nick and I make ice cream/frozen yogurt about twice a week, muahaha!

  3. pea soup! despite my best efforts it always just looks like…well, barf. p.s. I was just listening to that mix CD you made me – I forgot how amazing it is! I am SO obsessed πŸ™‚ thanks again honey!

Let's Discuss!

