"Chana" Get A What, What….

Today’s post is brought to you by Popeye the Sailor Man, your friend and mine.
Before getting to the new recipe and star of this post, I just had to share with you my strange, but DELICIOUS breakfast from this morning. It started out as an innocent bowl of Cream Hill Estates Gluten Free Rolled Oats….
Then I did this….
And this….
And this….
And ended up with this….
Come on…. Open wide….
You know you want to try it! To make this colorful concoction, I pureed a bit of chopped spinach, 2 frozen banana slices, a dash of light coconut milk and a splash of water. After adding this mixture to my oats, I plopped a bit of Butternut Squash puree and frozen blueberries on top, mixed it all together, and ate a breakfast that would make Popeye proud! This was a seriously delicious bowl of oats! I can’t wait to make another version tomorrow!

Now, on to the entree and my submission for this week’s What Can I Eat That’s Gluten Free Blog Carnival!

GF Guy and I LOVE Indian food. There is just one problem…. we don’t know what anything is called. We know we will like it once we see it, but the menus are baffling! Since we rarely dine out, I decided, on a whim, to try my hand at creating a well known Indian delicacy, Chana Saag. I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand, so I improvised, combined a few different recipes, added a few things of my own, and somehow came out with a rather yummy dish! I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we did. (Plus, it was an awesome way of getting GF Guy to eat mass amounts of veggies!)

Chana Saag Chickpea Spinach Curry


Ingredients:
– 1 tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– 1 tablespoon Earth Balance
– 1 1/4 teaspoon Cinnamon
– 1/4 teaspoon Cloves
– 1 tablespoon Curry Powder
– 1/2 teaspoon Garam Masala
– 1 teaspoon Sage
– 1/2 Yellow Onion, finely chopped
– 1 inch Fresh Gingerroot, grated
– 5 cloves Garlic, minced
– 1/4 teaspoon Salt
– Dash Black Pepper
– 1 14.5 oz. can Muir Glen Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes
– 1/2 cup Light Coconut Milk
– 1 15 oz. can Chickpeas, drained and rinsed
– 1 pound Fresh Baby Spinach
– 1/2 cup Fresh Cilantro, for garnish

1. Warm oil and margarine in large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add cinnamon, cloves, curry, garam masala, and sage. Cook, stirring, 1 minute.

2. Reduce heat to medium, add onion and cook 4 to 5 minutes, until onions are just tender. Add garlic, ginger, salt, and pepper; cook 1 minute.

3. Add chickpeas, tomatoes, and coconut milk. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and cook, covered, 15 minutes, until chickpeas are soft.

4. Add spinach in batches and cook until spinach is just wilted. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

5. Garnish with cilantro sprigs and serve with quinoa or rice.

What is your favorite ethnic cuisine?
Do you like Indian food? What is your favorite Indian dish?

Also: I have an AMAZINGLY, AWESOME GIVEAWAY coming on Friday!!!! Be sure to check back for a chance to win something sure to bring you and your household some Christmas cheer!

10 thoughts on “"Chana" Get A What, What….

  1. OMG!!!! I adore Indian food and have had the very good fortune of having a world renown Indian chef as a cooking mentor. Raghavan Iyer is my cooking idol. I have all three of his cookbooks including Betty Crocker's Indian Home Cooking, a real oxymoron but a great book. He lives here in the Twin Cities and teaches cooking classes on occasion. I know exactly what you mean about not knowing the names of dishes, such a problem. Raghavan uses Indian titles with English subtitles so it is easier to figure out what the recipe is actually. Indian food is so forgiving both in the selection of ingredients and in proportion. I can't actually pick a favorite dish, although I love any saag or chana masala. A word of caution do not use any hing, also known as asafoetida as it is not gluten free, even in a block form. Wheat flour is always added to it to prevent clumping. I am also dabbling in African cuisine these days, using The Soul of a New Cuisine as a guide, a beautiful cookbook! I was hoping to take an 8 week mission trip into Northern India last April, providing basic medical care to Tibetan's living in exile but my physician felt my intestinal health was too compromised for the food hygiene practices of the trip. I was devastated to say the least. I will get to India someday, some how!

  2. My favorite Indian dish is probably chicken tikka masala. But my favorite food overall is sushi! Love it!That breakfast looks like something I would make. Totally random and funny looking but deliciously healthy.

  3. Is it weird that I think your breakfast looks incredibly amazing? 🙂 Haha, I guess that just means I have good taste. 😉 Love the dinner recipe too! I am copying this one to try soon.Take care GF!

  4. That looks tasty! We don't eat much ethnic food. Mexican would be the most popular. My husband is pretty limited in what he likes so we don't branch out too much. Little by little I try new things on him though.

  5. We hunted down a Whole Foods on our trip through Dallas and I found the bulk spices. I saw the garam masala and knew I had seen it in a recipe somewhere that I thought about trying but (at the time) I didn't know what it was. I don't know what is in it but it smells divine – like cookies or something. I am going to have to try this, it sounds really good.

Let's Discuss!

