Fluff N’ Stuff….

Wow…. Today turned into a baking marathon! I made so many fun things I haven’t even had a chance to sample them all. I’m going to wait to post each recipe until I have had a chance to sample each item. Item #1 was made especially for my little sister. She turned 9 last week and we had a mini-celebration tonight. Instead of making a cake, I made a dozen cupcakes, and one GINORMOUS mega super-sized cupcake just for her.


The cupcakes were made using a Kinnikinnick Chocolate Cake mix. The frosting, however, was the real star of the show.

Growing up, we always ordered our birthday cakes from Sam’s Club. Their bakery used a certain kind of frosting that wasn’t too sweet and was extremely fluffy. It was the only frosting that didn’t upset me stomach due to excessive sweetness. Well, today I recreated that exact frosting, and quite by accident! HOORAY! The combination of the chocolate cupcake and the fluffy vanilla frosting tastes similar to one of my favorite glutenous, dairy laden childhood treats, a Devil Dog!

Can you say heaven?
My mom, sister, and brother in-law each ate two cupcakes, and I left 3 for my daddy. Devil Dogs are a favorite treat of his, as well!

Fluffy Vanilla Frosting


Ingredients:
– 1 1/2 cups Sugar
– 1/2 teaspoon Cream of Tartar
– 1/2 teaspoon Salt
– 1/2 cup Water
– 1 1/2 tablespoons Light Agave Nectar
– 2 Egg Whites
– 1 1/2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract

Combine Sugar, Cream of Tartar, Salt, Water, and Agave Nectar in a saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until the sugar has melted.


Beat Egg Whites with a Whisk attachment on high, just under 1 minute, until Egg Whites begin to hold their shape.
Continue beating Whites on high, slowly pour syrup mixture, in a steady stream, into Egg Whites and continue beating about 1 1/2 minutes.


Add Vanilla Extract and continue to whip until frosting loses its gloss and stands in stiff peaks, about 4 minutes.


Frost cupcakes immediately!

I hope you enjoy this fluffy treat as much as we did!

I want to use this frosting to create GF/DF Hostess Cupcakes! It would be perfect! My family has already requested I bring a batch over for Christmas. I guess that makes this recipe a success!

What is/was your favorite snack cake indulgence?

7 thoughts on “Fluff N’ Stuff….

  1. Heavenly!!! Thanks for this wonderful fluffy frosting, I love it! I don't have any favorite snack cake indulgence but I would eat any kind of cake you put in front of me, YUM!

Let's Discuss!

