Criss-Cross, Applesauce….

Do you ever cook something just so your house will smell nice? I will be the first to step forward and admit, I totally do! One of the reasons I love my Crock Pot so much is how delicious it makes the house smell. My latest cooking venture is an ode to all things odiferous and Christmas-y and features a winter staple……..

………APPLES!!!!!!!!!!

December is all about cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg in the GF Gidget household. (as if it isn’t always about cinnamon! hahaha!) Applesauce just screams these spices! Admittedly, I made “just apples” applesauce because it is more versatile. I added copious amounts of cinnamon to my personal portion, but you can’t really use cinnamon applesauce to bake. Now, can you? So here it is, Folks! My simply smelly (in a good way) applesauce recipe!

Just Apples Applesauce


Ingredients:
– 3 pounds Macintosh Apples
– 1 cup Water
– 1 1/2 tablespoons Lemon Juice

Peel, core, and chop apples into little pieces.


Place all ingredients in your Crock Pot.
Cook on low 6-8 hours.
Mash remaining apple “chunks” with a fork.

Store in the refrigerator for up to a week, or can.


Enjoy!

Sorry this post is so “short and sweet”. I have had, and will have, a bunch of “social engagements” that go into the wee hours of the morning this week due to the opening of GF Guy’s show. Let’s just say GF Gidget and no sleep are not big friends, but GF Gidget and coffee… now that is a whole different story! Off to get caffeinated! Bye!!!!

10 thoughts on “Criss-Cross, Applesauce….

  1. please tell me this post title is inspired by "bo bo skinny rotten totten". ah, so fun. I always used to giggle and blush when we had to close our eyes to count to ten and if we messed up had to kiss our boyfriend 🙂 anyhoo, fab recipe, per ush!

  2. i bought lots of organic apples and made totally organic healthy apple butter for family last year (make a great gift). i have never understood the desire to add tons of sugar – apples are so naturally sweet.

  3. My mom used to do applesauce in the crockpot and it's been one of the things I've regretted learning from her before she passed …. and this is EXACTLY how I remember her doing it! I can even smell it 🙂

Let's Discuss!

