Casserollin’, Rollin’, Rollin’….

Who doesn’t love the stereotypical image of a 1950’s housewife pulling a piping hot casserole out of the oven? There is something very “Leave It To Beaver” about it. Do you want to know a secret? Well…..

I kind of want to be a 1950’s housewife…. I don’t mean the “Yes, dear”, “Here are your pipe and slippers” kind of housewife. I just love the idea of having a home cooked meal waiting for my husband every night.

Unfortunately, with our work schedules we are lucky if we get to say “Goodnight” to each other. GF Guy’s show Wonderland started previews last week. Friday is the official “opening night” (when I am going) and Saturday is when the press are invited. Here is a link to some photos of the show. The costumes are AMAZING!!! They were designed by Susan Hilferty, who designed the costumes for Wicked. I can’t wait to see it! (I am such a proud little wife!)

Okay! Tangent over! Back to your regularly scheduled blog post….

Now where was I…. OH YES!… Casseroles!

Have you ever noticed practically every casserole recipe calls for Condensed Cream of ____ Soup? (fill in the blank with mushroom, chicken, etc….) The lack of Condensed GF/DF Soups on the market made making any of these aforementioned casseroles impossible. My FAVORITE meals growing up were both casseroles made with Condensed Soup. I never thought I would be able to eat them again after going Gluten Free and Dairy Free. Well……. with the successful creation of my GF/DF Condensed Soup recipes I made the seemingly impossible possible! I made one of my favorite childhood comfort foods!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Get ready to take a page from my mom’s recipe book. It’s a meal “just like mom used to make”! (Only without the gluten, dairy, sodium, hydrogenated oils, or fat!)

Creamy Turkey and Broccoli Casserole


Ingredients:
– 1 recipe GF/DF Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup
– 1 recipe GF/DF Condensed Cream of Turkey Soup (or Cream of Chicken)
– 1 cup Tofutti Better Than Sour Cream
– 1/2 teaspoon Curry Powder
– 1 teaspoon Lemon Juice
– Shredded leftover Turkey (or 4-5 Chicken Breasts, cooked and shredded)
– 16oz. Frozen Broccoli pieces, defrosted
– 1 cup Vegan Cheddar Cheese, shredded (I recommend Follow Your Heart Vegan Gourmet Cheddar Cheese. It is the only kind that melts properly.)
– 1/2 cup GF Italian Bread Crumbs
– Non-stick Cooking Spray

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Spray a 9×13 casserole dish with non-stick cooking spray.
In a medium to large bowl, combine Soups, Tofutti Sour Cream, Curry Powder, and Lemon Juice. Adjust seasonings to taste and set aside. (I added a bit more Curry Powder)


In a small bowl, combine the shredded Vegan Cheese and GF Bread Crumbs and set aside.
Spread defrosted Broccoli in the bottom of the prepared casserole dish.


Next, layer shredded Turkey over the Broccoli.


Pour Sour Cream mixture over the Turkey layer and spread evenly.


Sprinkle top with cheese and bread crumb mixture.


Bake, uncovered 20-30 minutes, until bubbly and golden.


*If building this casserole ahead of time and refrigerating before cooking, add an extra 15 minutes to the bake time.*


Retro-yumminess! GF Guy LOVED it! I LOVED it! It was totally “old-school” and totally awesome! Adding to it’s awesomeness, this casserole can be built and then frozen up to 1 month before cooking! Simply defrost overnight in the refrigerator and bake! VOILA!

In other news: Congratulations to my friend Francesca Battistelli! She received her first Grammy nomination today for Best Gospel Performance for her song Free To Be Me!!!!

Also, Colleen over at Colleen’s Gluten Freestyling made my Dairy Free Pumpkin Alfredo Pasta with Steamed Kale.
Great job, Colleen! I’m glad you and the family enjoyed it!

To the rest of you gourmet bloggies out there, please send me photos if you recreate one of my recipes. I would love to feature you on my blog!

9 thoughts on “Casserollin’, Rollin’, Rollin’….

  1. Oh wow, I am SUCH a fan of broccoli casserole! This looks fantastic.Congrats to your husband for his Broadway show. I can't believe that, how amazing! I used to be into acting as a child, and I took many acting lessons. I'm sort of sad I quit. But I enjoy my job, so no complaints 🙂

  2. This is great! I'm so glad you found a way to enjoy condensed "Cream" soups! I don't make a lot of these casseroles, but I do make broccoli cheese rice casserole for Thanksgiving. When I do, I follow Sandra Lee's cream of mushroom soup recipe, only using like half of the milk (you could of course use hemp milk or almond milk) and using that in place of the canned stuff, so it's GF. Even more awesome that yours is DF too! And I love having a meal for my hubby every night – I know, how very "domestic" of us, but there's nothing like pleasing the ones you love with food, right! LOL

  3. Katrina you are brilliant. I can't wait to try you condensed soup and drag out all the church basement cookbooks I have loaded with recipes calling for cans of condensed soup.

Let's Discuss!

