Condense and Create….

It is time….


….time to reveal a recipe of mini proportions and mega possibilities.

A few months ago, I began working on a recipe for condensed soup. Some of my favorite childhood meals… okay, all…. were casserole creations featuring Condensed Cream of Chicken or Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup. Let’s face it, Gluten Free/Dairy Free Condensed Soups are just not readily available. That’s just the way it is. So… I decided to take matters into my own hands and make my own! So there, Campbell’s!

Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup (GF/DF)


Ingredients:
– 3 tablespoons Vegan Margarine
– 1/4 cup canned, sliced Mushrooms
– 1 1/4 cups Almond Milk, heated
– 1/4 teaspoon Salt
– Black Pepper
– 1/3 teaspoon Herbamare
– 1/4 cup Turkey Stock, cold or room temp. (Chicken or Vegetable Stock or even water would work, too)
– 1 1/2 tablespoons Corn Starch
– 1 teaspoon Brown Rice Flour (opt.)

In a medium saucepan, saute mushrooms in melted margarine, about 3 minutes.


Slowly whisk in Almond Milk and seasonings.
Create a slurry using the turkey stock and corn starch.


Slowly whisk slurry into the soup mixture.
Continue to cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until desired consistency is reached.
(This could take 10-15 minutes.)
Adjust seasonings.
*Add brown rice flour if needed for additional thickness.

Condensed Cream of Turkey Soup (GF/DF)


Ingredients:
*The same as Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup except substitute 1/4 cup shredded Turkey for the canned Mushrooms.

Tah-Dah!!!!!!!!!

Tune in tomorrow to see which of my mommy’s recipes I used these soups to reinvent!

Giveaways: Check out this rockin’ giveaway from CCKatie!

10 thoughts on “Condense and Create….

  1. this.is.awesome! the only condensed soup I can ever find is campbells (which, don't get me wrong.. very nummy.. but I don't love the hydrogentated oils) thanks for this! p.s. go make your own GF company now. Thanks.

  2. Well aren't you a clever little cook! I have never really enjoyed condensed soups so I would never have thought to try and make one myself, but I think it's really cool that you did, and figured it out! Can't wait to see what you did with it 🙂

  3. Just one question: what's Herbamare? Is there a substitute that I might be able to use? Am I a complete nitwit for having to ask? (Okay, so those were 3 questions & not one!)

  4. I made a mushroom soup much like this from another blog and it was wonderful. I haven't been able to eat cream soups for so long and didn't think about making them myself until I saw them elsewhere. They both look great!I'm sure you could easily freeze them and use as needed in recipes. Thanks for sharing this at Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays!

  5. This looks terrific! I was very happy the day I learned to make easy cream soup. I could make my casseroles again! Thanks for participating in the soup challenge.

Let's Discuss!

