Leftover Queen….

Happy December!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

December is officially my favorite month! People are generally happier, kinder, and filled with good cheer. There are twinkling lights EVERYWHERE! The smells of Pine Trees and Cinnamon fill the house. You can play “elf” for an entire 4 weeks preparing surprises for loved ones and strangers alike. Family and friends gather together to celebrate Christ’s birth….

It’s pretty much the best month ever! Just sayin’…

Yesterday, GF Guy and I decorated our tiny little apartment. We have a little “Charlie Brown” Christmas tree with big old ’80’s- tastic lights,


the lights almost got the better of GF Guy…


but Dickens came to the rescue!


3 stockings hung from our counter, and a wreath on the door.


Dickens isn’t quite sure why we have a tree in the house. But, I think he’s okay with it!

BUT…. before we can move on to December’s “sugar and spice and everything nice” recipes, we have to clean out our refrigerators of Thanksgiving leftovers!

I thought I wouldn’t have any leftovers. My mom cooked the GF turkey, so I was expecting her to keep those leftovers. I should have known better! She sent me home with the turkey carcass and half of the meat! Not one to let anything go to waste, I stripped that bird of it’s remaining meat and set to work making homemade Turkey Stock.

I used this recipe, for the ingredients, and then did my own cooking method. Here is what I did:

Crock Pot Turkey Stock

Ingredients:
– 1 Turkey Carcass
– 1 Onion, chunked
– 3 Carrots, chunked
– 3 stalks Celery, chunked
– 3 Bay Leaves
– 3 sprigs fresh Thyme
– a handful fresh Italian Parsley
– 2 cloves Garlic, smashed
– about 3 quarts Water

Place ingredients in your crock pot in the order listed.


Cover and cook on low 12-24 hours. (I let mine cook about 20 hours.)


Allow stock to cool before straining.


First, strain through a colander to remove large chunks.
Second, strain stock through a fine mesh sieve or cheesecloth to remove any small pieces of herbs, etc….
Allow to cool completely before storing.
Stock will keep 3 days in the refrigerator or 6 months in the freezer.

I poured mine into this container.


I kindly informed GF Guy not to drink it. Contrary to it’s appearance, the container is not holding Sweet Tea! hahahaha!

I have 3 more recipes to post, just from today! But… I’m going to spread them out. Do you remember the GF/DF Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup recipe I mentioned a few months ago? Well, it is time for the recipe to be posted! I have tweaked and tweaked and it is now ready! I also made a new variation of the soup, GF/DF Condensed Cream of Turkey Soup!

So… get set for a week filled with all sorts of yummy goodness!

6 thoughts on “Leftover Queen….

  1. Yay for December! It's my favorite month too! I love your Christmas tree, it's so cute and so is Dickens!I've been looking for easy recipe to make veggie stock from Crock Pot. I love this recipe and I'll just sub the turkey with mushrooms, thanks for sharing:)

Let's Discuss!

