Tupperware Thanksgiving….

Hello everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful, blessed Thanksgiving! I started off the day by dragging my sisters out of bed to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving day parade with me. I sneaked into my parents house, (yes… the proper word is sneaked, not snuck) using my house key, (It was a major stealth operation.) and proceeded to wake up the entire household… dogs included. πŸ™‚ We hung out, watched the parade,


I received some belated birthday presents,


and all in all had a lovely morning.

We were scheduled to eat dinner at my older sister’s in-law’s house around 2:00. Beings that I did not want to risk getting sick on Thanksgiving, I prepared my own meal ahead of time and brought it in Tupperware containers.


– Organic Roasted Turkey and Gravy (GF Guy and I shared this)
– Field Greens Salad with raw Broccoli, Tomato… and that little baggie has Nori Crinkles (what girl doesn’t love her seaweed on Thanksgiving?)
– My mom also made GF/DF mashed “Turnips”. They are actually mashed Rutabagas and are DELICIOUS, but my parents have always called them “turnips”. Whatever….. Who wants to get all technical on Thanksigiving.
– I also brought my Harvest Muffins and Crustless, Vegan Pumpkin Pie

The upside of bringing your own food:
– No worries about getting sick
– No overindulging
– You know you will like everything

The downside of bringing your own food:
– Possibly offending the host
– The other food looks yummy
– No leftovers

It was so much fun to be able to spend time with family and friends, especially my little sister. She is home from college until Sunday and is one of the coolest people I know. She is finding out next week if she gets a full scholarship to earn a dual masters in Psychology and Divininty. How cool is that?! She’s pretty much the most awesome thing ever… Just sayin’… (Okay… proud big sister rant over!)

Unfortunately, GF Guy woke up the morning of Thanksgiving with a terrible head cold. We had to leave early because the poor man looked like the living dead. He is sleeping in a little this morning before heading in to work. Pray he feels better soon! It’s so sad when he’s sick!

I will have more pictures of the festivities later. I have to wait for my mom to post them on Facebook, so I can “steal” them! πŸ˜‰

Today, it is back to work for me. I will NOT be hitting the crazy Black Friday sales today. I am an introvert… that many people would likely send me into shock…

How was your Thanksgiving? Did you stay home or go somewhere? Are you shopping with the mobs on Black Friday?

10 thoughts on “Tupperware Thanksgiving….

  1. I doubt you offended the host at all, GFG! in fact – i'm sure you just made all the other thanksgiving go-ers slightly jealous πŸ˜‰ hope you had a fabulous gobble gobble day lover!

  2. We had an "unconventional" Thanksgiving" this year. Our health food store put our turkey in their refrigerator instead of keeping it frozen. Thus we had to cook the bird on Tuesday..we celebrated Tuesday/Wednesday.On Thanksgiving we were turkeyed out and had Pizza, went to a movie, and hung out with friends in afternoon. It was wonderful :)I'm not willing to stand out in 30 degree temps on Friday…so caught the same deals on Amazon in my warm house πŸ™‚

  3. That sounds like you had a lot of fun! What a fantastic Day you had! Hope GF guy is feeling better soon!I didn't do cooking or shopping, just dined out and watched movie on DVD afterwards:)

  4. Sorry to hear that your guy was feeling a bit under the weather, the cold bug was going around over here too. For thanksgiving I went to my grandparents house and my whole famly was there! And I did go shopping on black friday, I was out at 2:30 on the morning until 12 in the afternoon. I scored some major deals :)Enjoy your weekend!

  5. You completely read my mind, "sneaked" just doesn't sound right, but it is!! Weird.I love your shirt you wore on Thanksgiving, it's fantastic and it looks so good on you!I sometimes bring my own foods to outings, and I usually bring enough for everyone to have, that way it's like I am bringing it as a dish, instead of to eat "instead of" the host's food. For you it's different though, as your condition actually effects your health! Mine is purely for IBS reasons, which effects my health, but it's not life or death. I would think the host, especially your family, would understand.Glad you had a great Thanksgiving! No shopping for me either, work like you, blah!

  6. I love your upside & downside comments. I have to say, to a family small gathering I have never brought my own food although this holiday season, I am going to. It's just not worth getting SICK and feeling awful after the fact b/c of food intolerances, now is it!Glad you enjoyed the vegan creme de menthe recipe and it's GF too hon, enjoy it!xoxo

Let's Discuss!

