I Am Thankful For….

Contrary to popular belief, Thanksgiving is not… I repeat… It is NOT about the food!


Thanksgiving is a holiday about family.


It is about snuggling up in your pajamas next to your sisters to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.

It is about fighting your Dad for the last cup of coffee, but letting him have it because you love him.


It is about dragging the Christmas tree out of the attic and yelling at the boys to “stop playing around and come do this man job”.


Thanksgiving is about love, laughter, and giving thanks for the wonderful, amazing people God has placed in your life.

That being said….

Today I started my Thanksgiving baking. In true Gluten Free Gidget fashion…. CHAOS ENSUED!
-My food processor developed a leak.
-I dropped a can of pumpkin puree which splattered all over the entire kitchen, up the walls,
across the floor, all over Dickens… You get the picture.
-I dropped the lid of a 2nd can of pumpkin puree on my foot. This time, I had a combination of
blood and pumpkin puree to clean up.

But… I persevered and was greatly rewarded.

I am thankful for….

Crustless, Vegan Pumpkin Pie
It is a recipe by the amazing Karina of Karina’s Kitchen.


This delicious pie has been a tradition since my very first Gluten Free Thanksgiving 2 years ago.

I was so proud of myself for cooking an entirely Gluten and Dairy Free Thanksgiving meal for GF Guy and myself. Hahaha!

Harvest Muffins


Another Gluten Free Thanksgiving tradition. Actually, they are an “Anytime” tradition. We just LOVE them that much!

My mom started brining our Organic Turkey tonight. This is the recipe we are trying this year. It’s something new. Here’s hoping it works!

What are your favorite Thanksgiving traditions?

10 thoughts on “I Am Thankful For….

  1. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! I wish folks would stop obsessing about "oh my goodness, the food" and realize that this is a time of year to be thankful for family, friends, life, fun!

  2. So many beautiful things to be thankful for! I made that pumpkin pie for Canadian Thanksgiving and we all loved it!! I definitely enjoyed some for breakfast in the days that followed… I'm sorry about your kitchen mishaps, although I must say that I giggled a little at the thought of little Dickens covered in pumpkin!!

  3. Great post. It's true, the holidays in general have been taken over by food and gifts, and the purpose of the holidays have been masked. IT's about FAMILY, FRIENDS, LOVE, and TRADITION! I am thankful for my health and my new job. I am also, obviously, thankful for all my wonderful family and friends!Have a great, gluten free Thanksgiving. This is my first "wheat free" Thanksgiving, wish me luck!

Let's Discuss!

