Overly Caucasian….

I married into a Cuban family….

I am very…

well…


NOT Cuban. Let’s just say I’ve often been referred to as “overly Caucasian”.

I tried to learn Spanish once. I kept telling people “I have lots of men”, when I meant to say “I am very hungry”….

Like I said, I am very not Cuban.

This being said, I decided to try to make a traditional Cuban meal for my husband’s Grandfather. I decided to tackle Picadillo. As usual, I took a perfectly good recipe (a family recipe), found 3 other recipes, and used them all to create my own. I just can’t leave well enough alone! I normally am not a huge fan of Picadillo. It’s basically Sloppy Joes served over white rice. Surprisingly, though, I like my version, which I served over Quinoa. Let your taste buds be the judge.

This Little White Girl’s Picadillo


Ingredients:

– Extra Virgin Olive Oil
– 1 White Onion, chopped
– 1 Green Bell Pepper, chopped
– 2 cloves Garlic, minced
– 1 teaspoon Cumin
– 1 teaspoon Oregano
– 1/4 teaspoon Cinnamon
– Salt, to taste
– Freshly Ground Black Pepper, to taste
– 1 lb. Organic, Grass Fed Ground Beef
– 1 Bay Leaf
– 2 Tomatoes, chopped
– 2 tablespoons Tomato Paste
– 1/2 cup Gluten Free Beer (I used Redbridge)
– 1/4 cup, or less, Spanish Olives
– 2 teaspoons Capers, and a little brine
– 1/4 cup Golden Raisins

In a large pot, saute onions and peppers in oil over medium high heat.
Once onions are soft add garlic and spices.
Allow flavors to marry, about 1 minute, before adding the ground beef.
Brown the beef.
Add all other ingredients.
Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer about 30 minutes.

Simple, no? I don’t know if Pop liked my version, yet. GF Guy took it over this morning before work. Keep your fingers crossed!

While I made this man meal for the Cuban men in my life, I made myself an utterly delightful “Me Meal”.


Spiralized Zucchini “Noodles” with steamed Spinach and Brussel Sprouts covered in Marinara Sauce and sprinkled with Nutritional Yeast Flakes. A slice of Oat So Good Bread was the perfect dipping tool. (PS- the bread is the moistest, most delicious gluten free bread I have ever tasted! You MUST try this recipe!)

Also… I need your help. I just found out I will be cooking for the ENTIRE family this Sunday. I need to cook a meal sure to feed the hungriest of appetites, yet something light enough that my grandmother will be able to eat it. I am thinking soup. Any suggestions would be most welcome and appreciated! Thanks!

AND… I just found out one of my blog posts is featured on Be Well @ Stanford powered by Wellsphere! Check it out!

12 thoughts on “Overly Caucasian….

  1. hope the picadillo went over well!! love your almond joy fudgie babies and oat bread, too 🙂 good luck with dinner! i have one of my own tonight htat i have to figure out what to make… eek!

  2. Haha! What a cute post! I love all your photos, you're so adorable! That picadillo sounds so wonderful. I can't wait to find out what you'll cook for the entire family, it's too late for me to suggest!

  3. Haha! Love the glasses pick, totally captures the "overly Caucasian" look! I completely understand (I've definitely got the all white girl, no rhythm thing going on).

  4. Hahaha…My bf is also cuban, and I am what you could also call overly caucasian.When a song comes on at a club, I sing the lyrics, and I usually clap my hands to the beat.God, it's mortifying, isn't it?

  5. I tried making a vastly different picadillo (it used potatoes, chipotle chile's in adobo among other things) and it was disgusting but your version sound really good. I may have to try it.What is the Spiralized Zucchini Noodles? It that something you bought or made? (I am so hoping you made it because our grocery stores are pretty limited).

Let's Discuss!

