There Was a Little Girl, Who Had a Little Curl….

I am that little girl, and I have a whole lotta curl. Are you curious as to why I have so much curl today? Well, it because…..

I GOT A SPIRALIZER FOR MY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

She’s beautiful, isn’t she?…. le sigh….

After seeing Spiralizer creations featured on Averie, Katie, and Gena’s blogs, I knew I just had to have one of my own. In fact, I have been lusting after a Spiralizer for months. After tonight’s “Me Meal”, I can definitively state, it was worth the wait.

If you are just tuning in to the “Me Meal” episodes, I will give you a quick recap. GF Guy is in tech for the new musical he is working on, Wonderland. This means he is at the theater until after midnight every night, leaving me a “Theater Widow”. I miss not seeing much of him. However, I am always one to accentuate the positive. I am looking at this as a chance to make all sorts of fun meals I have been wanting to create, but haven’t because I didn’t think he would like them. Hence, the “Me Meals” series was created. We are now in week 2.

Behold…. a Spiralizer creation! I was craving meat tonight, for some odd reason. This is a rare occurrence, so I knew my body must need it. Unfortunately, I did not have any meat in the house… or so I thought. I peered into the depths of my freezer (aka my best friend) a found a few frozen Turkey and Spinach Meatballs! SCORE! It was time to go Italian!

“Spaghetti” a la Zucchini


Ingredients:
– 1 Zucchini Squash
– Marinara Sauce
– leftover Turkey and Spinach Meatballs (from the freezer)
– Garlic Powder
– Nutritional Yeast Flakes

I began by cutting the ends off an organic zucchini squash (bought at the Farmer’s Market yesterday). Then, I cut a shallow, slit lengthwise down the center of the zucchini, placed it on the Spiralizer, and set to cranking.


It’s a miracle! Curly noodles began to accumulate in greater volumes then I had anticipated.


I originally planned on using both a zucchini and a yellow squash,

but only need the zucchini!

The remaining zucchini scraps looked a bit… awkward.


However, the resulting bowl of “noodles”,


which I topped with marinara,


meatballs, and “cheese” was a big old bowl of heaven!

This meal was surprisingly filling, and not so surprisingly delicious. If you don’t have a Spiralizer, ask for one for Christmas! You definitely NEED one of these!

I also made a decadent, sinless dessert, but…..

You will have to tune in tomorrow for the details!!!!!!!!!

7 thoughts on “There Was a Little Girl, Who Had a Little Curl….

  1. My mom used to sing that song to me ALL THE TIME!! Oh, childhood memories…. I have a huge head of curls too :)LOVE the new kitchen gadget! Great for some gluten free spaghetti 🙂

  2. Oh I want one too! Where did you get that thing? I've never even heard of them before. I bought a mandolin to make zucchini ribbons, but I soon found out it wastes soo much. Then I used my food processor to make mini noodles with the fry maker thing-y. They were alright, but too fat. This spiralizer looks perfect! By the way your food look scrumptious!

Let's Discuss!

